Research Guides: Business Information: Market Research / Statistics

Data from US Govt Agencies

For population data consult the U.S. Census.

Other related tables from the U.S. Census Bureau include:

American Community Survey
County and City Data Book (latest edition is from 2007)
County Business Patterns
Economic Census
Metropolitan and Micropolitan
State and County QuickFacts
Statistical Abstract of the United States

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics periodically conducts the Consumer Expenditure Survey which provides information on consumers and their expenditures, as well as the American Time Use Survey. As a result of the Occupational Employment Survey, the BLS publishes the Metropolitan Area Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates. Other data sets are available from the Occupational Employment Statistics Home Page.

The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. "Estimates obtained from the CPS include employment, unemployment, earnings, hours of work, and other indicators."

The U.S. Census Bureau conducts several other periodic surveys, including the following:

American Community Survey (ACS)
American Housing Survey (AHS)
Housing Vacancies and Homeownership (HVS)
Residential Finance Survey (sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development - HUD)
Survey of Business Owners (SBO)
Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP: P-70 Current Population Reports)

The Local Area Personal Income tables, derived from the U.S Bureau of Economic Analysis, Regional Accounts Data, provides over thirty years of historical information. Particularly useful are estimates of per capita personal income by county.

Some historical employment data is available from the HUD-sponsored State of the Cities Data Systems, along with demographic profiles for cities. Detailed Occupation Statistics based on the 2000 Census are also available from the U.S. Census Bureau.

The Administration on Aging has a growing collection of Data and Statistics with links to other government agencies and research centers.

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) has created the Census 2000 Special EEO File with tables for race and ethnic distributions for states, metropolitan areas, counties, and selected places in the United States. More recent EEO Tabulation 2014-2018 are also available.

The U.S. Census Bureau has also generated graphical representations of data e.g. Mapping Census 2000: The Geography of U.S. Diversity, which shows total population and population percentage change since 1990.

Current socioeconomic statistics on various groups are covered by the U.S. Census Bureau:

International Trade Administration Import, Export Statistics, Trade Data and Analysis.

More Data Sources

Marketing tutorials

Resources for New Jersey

More Sources--Rutgers Librarian's Market Research Guide

See our Guide to Data & Statistics Sources

Consumer Spending (Bureau of Economic Analysis -US)\

@ Rutgers

IBISworld
Mergent
Investext
MarketLine

Statista Expert This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new window
RKMA publishes 12 biennial market research handbooks that focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. The handbooks include Business-to-Business Marketing, Consumer Behavior, Consumer Marking, Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile, Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research, Healthcare Business Market Research, International Consumer Markets, Leisure Business Market Research, Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research, Retail Business Market, Sports Marketing, and Travel & Tourism Market Research.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
A database of selected technology market research reports, reviews, and technology newsletters. Reports cover categories including advanced materials, chemicals, engineering, environment, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, and nanotechnology. Authorized NJIT members can search the database but must contact an NJIT Librarian to download a report.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
A leading provider of research and analysis on the global IT industry. This resource includes white papers, research analysis, and more.
Funded by NJIT IST Divison.

Free Reports

A good starting point is CensusScope, which is a portal to Census 2010 and 2000 data, charts, graphs and maps. This site is a product of the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan. Several other research centers do provide summaries of their findings on their websites:

American Customer Satisfaction Index (University of Michigan Business School)
General Social Survey (National Opinion Research Center)
Health and Retirement Study (University of Michigan)
Human Development Index (Social Science Research Council)
Comparative Urban and Regional Research at the Lewis Mumford Center, University at Albany
The Multicultural Economy (Selig Center for Economic Growth, University of Georgia)
National Center for Children in Poverty (Columbia University)
National Survey of America's Families (Urban Institute)
Panel Study of Income Dynamics (University of Michigan)
Population Change and Migration Data for US Geographic Areas and other reports (William H. Frey)
Research on Recent Demographic Trends (Loyola University)
State of Metropolitan America (Brookings Institution)
State of the Nation's Cities (Center for Urban Policy Research, Rutgers University)
State of the Nation's Housing (Joint Center for Housing Studies)
Surveys of Consumers: (University of Michigan)
U.S. Metro Economies (United States Conference of Mayors)

Other websites that have collected together demographic and social statistics include:

Social Science Data Archives (University of Amsterdam)
Digital Resource s (University of Virginia Library Scholars' Lab)

There are many many more. . . ask a librarian for help!