Research Guides: Business Information: Finance

Finance Guide - Table of Contents

Snapshots

For a quick profile of a public company's financial position, use one of the following:

Factiva (Dow Jones) This link opens in a new window
A premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva contains articles from The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today, Barron's, and other major publications.

Bloomberg The Ray Cassetta Financial Analysis Lab is located on the first floor near the entrance of the Martin Tuchman School of Management at NJIT and provides a meeting place for NJIT students and faculty interested in learning and using the Bloomberg terminal. The Bloomberg terminal is widely utilized in the financial industry to monitor and study security prices across all major asset classes, place electronic trades, send messages and emails to other terminal users, and construct financial datasets for research and development purposes. Becoming proficient with the Bloomberg terminal is a valuable skill for students who would like to gain employment in the financial services industry.
Yahoo Finance stock quotes (including historical,) company profiles, analyst coverage, earnings estimates, financials, charts, news, industry comparisons, competitors, etc. - the most complete of the free financial sites
Google Finance Stock market data and financial information and news
Morningstar Morningstar.com provides investors with information on over 6,000 stocks, 20,000 mutual funds and over 150 Exchange Traded Funds. In addition, it provides stock screening functions and portfolio analysis tools.
How to value private companies good techniques highlighted by Investopedia

Financial Ratios

FREE WEBSITES

BusStats
Business statistics and information.
Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) - United States Census Bureau
Business industry reports, rations, and information.
Yahoo Industry Center
Industry performance rankings and ratios.

Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios by D&B
Call Number: Ready Ref 5681 .R25 I533
Norms are dervied through D&B's Financial Information base including public and private corporations in the US. Includes 14 indicators of performance.
RMA Annual Statement Studies by Risk Management Association
Call Number: Ready Ref HF5681.B2 R59
Source of comparative data that comes directly from financial statements of the small and medium-size business customers of RMA’s member institutions.
Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios by Leo Troy
Call Number: Ready Ref HF5681.R25 A45
Includes 50 comparative performance indicators and covers all of North America using NAICS data to determine a measure of a company's performance and value.
Key management ratios : the clearest guide to the critical numbers that drive your business by Ciaran Walsh
Call Number: HF5681.R25 W347

Resources at Rutgers

Guide includes sources of information on corporate filings, stocks, bonds, dividends, and money markets. It also lists journals that cover the subject.