Research Guides: Business Information: Companies

Where to Begin

Company Web Site: Go to your company web site first. This example uses Google. Check the Investors section, which on Google's page is "Our Company" and then "Investor Relations." Look at the SEC filings, get the latest quarterly earnings report. Open the 10K and read the Management Discussion.

The Bloomberg Professional® service is a powerful platform widely used by financial professionals who need real-time data, news and analytics to make smarter, faster, more informed business decisions. Free Training and Certification available. Access via the Bloomberg Terminals located in the School of Management, CAB 1st floor. Open 9am-9pm during the semester.

Crunchbase Crowd sourced listings of startup activity. Free registration is required.

Factiva (Dow Jones) This link opens in a new window
A premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva contains articles from The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today, Barron's, and other major publications.
Business Source Premier from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database that provides coverage of articles on business, marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Many articles are available with full-text. Company Profiles are also included as well.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA) This link opens in a new window
Reference Solutions offers cutting-edge, advanced technology to provide real-time access to the world\'s most comprehensive databases of U.S. businesses, U.S. consumers, U.S. physicians, surgeons and dentists; It also includes Canadian businesses and consumers listings.

International Directory of Company Histories by Tom Derdak (Editor)
ISBN: 0912289104
Publication Date: 1988-11-15
The five volumes of the International Directory of Company Histories bring together histories of the leading companies of the United States, Canada, the UK, Europe and Japan.

Show Me

SWOT Analysis Using Business Source Premier
Demonstrates how to find and retrieve a company SWOT Analysis in the Business Source Premier database.
NAICS Industry Codes
Shows how to identify the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes for an industry or industrial subsector.
PPT on finding Company and Industry Information
Organizational Charts (The Official Board) The website states it has organizational charts for the world's 20,000 largest corporations. View corporations by industry, country, or alphabetically. Two types of membership: free - with limited viewing, or premium - with unlimited viewing.

Bloomberg

Bloomberg L.P. is a financial news service founded by Michael Bloomberg in 1982. It provides financial news and data to financial companies and organizations in virtually every country in the world through the Bloomberg terminal, The main function of the Bloomberg terminal is to provide an integrated platform that streams together price data, financials, news, trading data, and more.

Bloomberg has data on more than 5 million bonds, equities, commodities, currencies & funds. It covers most every publicly traded company in the world, and has profiles on more than a million people.

NJIT has a subscription via a terminal located in the School of Management. Ask your professor about gaining access.

Annual Reports, 10Ks, Financials

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

EDGAR Database: Original database of Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) forms including Annual Reports/10-Ks. (User Guide to EDGAR) and Descriptions of SEC Forms

Company Website: Look for a link labeled Investor Relations.

The website “The Public Register Online” (formerly Annual Report Service) allows you to access annual reports. Many investment sites also supply these such as Morningstar.com, YahooFinance or Google Finance. They may require you to register for free reports.

If you are comparing financials across multiple companies, you will need a tool such as Compustat. Ask your professor if you will have access to this database.

Links to Annual Reports for non-US companies