Research Guides: Business Information: Scholarly Sources

Scholarly Sources for Business Information Research

Scholarly sources, which are normally published in journals, as book chapters, or in conference proceedings, usually cover specific topics at a fairly deep level. In business, scholarly sources may include peer-reviewed journal articles from academic publications such as the Harvard Business Review or Journal of Business Research, academic books published by university presses, empirical research studies, case studies conducted by scholars, conference proceedings from professional organizations like the Academy of Management (AOM), and white papers or technical reports from research institutions that follow rigorous academic standards.. Scholarly sources also often refer to research publications that have undergone the peer-review process. This process allows experts in the field to write and publish their original research.

From this page, you can:

See recommended databases for business, where you can search for articles by title, author, or topic
Access journals in business, to browse recent issues, to review recent trends
Browse a virtual bookshelf of business books at the NJIT Library
Learn how to request resources through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

What is a Database and Why Use One?
Recommended Databases for Business

What is a scholarly database?

A scholarly database organizes the best quality, most relevant information for a field or discipline in one place so it can be searched. Because there is so much scholarly research and so many different fields, databases specialize in which kinds of information or tools they provide.

Why use a scholarly database?

Scholarly databases take into account the important publications and research methods of a field or discipline. The database helps you make choices about which articles you want to see - by subject, dates of publication, overall topic, and more. Google and Google Scholar, while vast, do no quality control on the content they provide or give you good tools to narrow your focus.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest Central)
The database offers full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key business periodicals like The Economist, plus industry reports and global business data from ABI/INFORM Global, Trade & Industry, and Dateline, providing comprehensive international business insights.
BCC Research
A database of selected technology market research reports, reviews, and technology newsletters. Reports cover categories including advanced materials, chemicals, engineering, environment, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, and nanotechnology. Authorized NJIT members can search the database but must contact an NJIT Librarian to download a report.
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
Business Insights provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories and full text periodical articles.
Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest Central)
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Business Market Research Collection (ProQuest Central)
Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Business Source Elite (EBSCO)
It offers full text from over 1,000 publications, with content dating back to 1985. It includes 10,100+ Datamonitor company profiles and is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
HeinOnline Academic
HeinOnline Academic is a comprehensive research platform that provides access to a vast digital library of authoritative sources, including historical documents, modern publications, and over 3,300 multidisciplinary journals covering 40 academic subjects, such as history, law, political science, human rights, international relations, and business. The creation of government and legal systems worldwide.
Reference Solutions (formerly Reference USA)
Reference Solutions offers cutting-edge, advanced technology to provide real-time access to the world\'s most comprehensive databases of U.S. businesses, U.S. consumers, U.S. physicians, surgeons and dentists; It also includes Canadian businesses and consumers listings.
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) Business Reference Handbook Series
RKMA publishes 12 biennial market research handbooks covering topics like B2B marketing, consumer behavior, media, healthcare, international markets, retail, sports, and tourism.
Sage Data
Powered by Data Planet, it is a single platform to explore, visualize, and share detailed data from trusted source providers. With its multidisciplinary and global scope, it can be used in any setting from independent research to classroom instruction.
Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO)
The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies.
Statista Expert
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.

Find additional databases on our A-Z Electronic Resource List.

Find Top Business Journals

Interlibrary Loan

If you are finding articles or other resources you want to use, but you are hitting a paywall, head on over to our Interlibrary Loan guide to create an account and make a request. Get quality sources sent right to your inbox -- free of charge with your NJIT UCID.