Policies

NJIT students, faculty, and staff may request scans of journal articles and book chapters from materials available in the Van Houten Library and Littman Library print collection. Requests must be placed through your ILLiad account. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) staff will scan articles or book chapters and deliver them as a PDF to library patrons’ ILLiad accounts. 

Document Delivery Service (DDS)

Who may use DDS?

• Currently registered NJIT students (including distance learning students)
• Current NJIT faculty, adjunct faculty, and staff 
• Emeritus faculty,

Who is not eligible for DDS?

• NJIT Alumni
• VALE Patrons
• VentureLink and NJII employees
• Guest patrons (students from Rutgers-Newark not enrolled in NJIT courses, and Essex Community College students)
• Members of the general public

What materials may be requested through DDS?

• Articles and book chapters from the Van Houten Library print collection,
• Articles and book chapters from the Littman Library print collection.

How are DDS requests placed?

• Requests are placed through the patron's ILLiad account.
• Before submitting a DDS request, patrons should check Journals Finder and Online Catalog for availability. If the item shows “available” at Van Houten Library or Littman Library, requests can be submitted through ILLiad.
• After logging into their ILLiad account, patrons should choose "New Request" for an article or a book chapter to submit their DDS request. A separate request must be placed for each article or book chapter to be scanned.
• First-time ILLiad requesters will be asked to create an account.

How many DDS requests are allowed?

• There is a limit of five (5) DDS requests per day per library patron. Limits are subject to change depending on demand.

How long will it take for DDS materials to arrive?

• DDS materials are usually delivered within 24 to 48 hours.

How will DDS materials be delivered?

• DDS materials will be delivered in PDF format to library patrons’ ILLiad accounts accounts. Library patrons will receive an email notification when a DDS request is completed and accessible. Once delivered, DDS materials are stored for 30 days.

Are there limitations on what can be requested through DDS?

The library has established “fair use” copyright guidelines based on the copyright law of the United States and current practices in other academic libraries.
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specific conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
NJIT library reserves the right to refuse to accept a document delivery request if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the request would involve violation of copyright law in excess of “fair use”.
To operate within these established “fair use” guidelines and, at the same time, strive to provide access to scholarly research materials, copyright policies for document delivery requests are as follows:

NJIT library will not scan:

• More than one book chapter from a book,
• More than one article from a journal issue or newspaper,
• Articles or book chapters longer than 50 pages  or more than 10% of the journal or book,
• Materials on course reserve.

Library patrons who need more than one article from a print journal issue or one chapter from a book are encouraged to visit the Van Houten Library or Littman Library to access and use these materials in person.

NJIT Collections not available through DDS?

• Materials from archives and special collections,
• Materials from microforms collection,
• Full-text materials available online (e-Journals, e-Books, etc.),
• Theses and Dissertations, view http://library.njit.edu/etd for more information.

Questions?

• Email: lib_ill@njit.edu
• Phone: 973-596-3204
• Location: Interlibrary Loan Office, Van Houten Library

Updated and Approved: Librarian's Team Meeting, Sept 20, 2024