Overview Page - CET 413 - Environmental Science - Research Guides at New Jersey Institute of Technology

Resources

Basic background information and/or facts (i.e., mechanical properties)?

Refer to handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.

Studies on a research topic?
Find journal articles .

Procedures, specifications, or qualifications?
Use standards and handbooks.

Latest news and updates on research?
Find conference proceedings.

Details on inventions?
Look for patents.

Research data not found in published journals?
Check dissertations and theses.

You will find more infographics at Statista

Datasets are becoming increasingly abundant and accessible online. However, finding relevant data in the sea of information can be a daunting process. This guide is meant to organize reputable data sources related to environmental science for your convenience.

When evaluating a data source, it is important to consider:

Where the data is from (authorship)
Accessibility (file format)
Content (subject & quality)

Local/State:

United States:

Geological & Environmental:

Library Databases:

IEEE Xplore
Scopus

Evaluate Your Sources

Citing Your Sources

Tutorials

How to Find Information In Environmental Science
A Powerpoint to help guide students to find resources at NJIT. (revised Fall 2017)

Environmental Topics

Environmental Protection Agency
Find the most popular pages in your topic of interest.

Databases

Academic Search Premier from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities from 1960 to the present.
SciFinder-n (Chemical Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive discovery tool of chemical information, Scifinder is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. This web-based research discovery tool allows access to a wide variety of research disciplines, including biochemistry, chemistry, chemical engineering, materials sciences, physics, environmental science, and engineering.

NJIT Center for Natural Resources

The Center for Natural Resources at the New Jersey Institute of Technology, is a university-wide center founded in 2012 to foster sensible approaches for environmental and energy resource utilization.

The Center’s specialties include assessment and remediation studies of pollution in natural settings, and evaluation of natural resources for potential production of energy, especially the production of renewable energy. The Center for Natural Resources conducts studies ranging from the microscopic scale to the landscape scale, and utilizes advanced networks of sensors.