Research Guides: History: Historical News Sources

Newspapers and Newsreels

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Important: You must register using your NJIT UCID username/email to obtain access to NYTimes Online. NJIT students, faculty, and staff have 24/7 unlimited access including mobile access to the latest news with the ability to save and set up alerts on articles from 1851 to the present. Limited access to archive content: 5 articles per day for content from 1851 to 2002. This includes access to the InEducation academic resources or learning tools.

New York Times Archive
Access the New York TimesMachine to see archived articles.
Google News Archive Search (Historical Newspapers)
Search or Browse issues of old newspapers. Google has since abandoned this project of digitizing old newspapers, but the ones done are still available.
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
From the Library of Congress
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Veridian Projects
Includes a variety of archives and archival projects that includes newspaper collections.
British Pathe
British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance. Spanning the years 1896-1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science, and culture.

Factiva (Dow Jones) This link opens in a new window
A premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva contains articles from The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today, Barron's, and other major publications.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Independent Voices
Full text access to alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States in the latter half of the twentieth century, including periodicals produced by radical student organizations; LGBT, African-American, Native American, and Latino activists; feminists, dissident military personnel, and others.