History

See the Kean University Library's Kean University New Jersey History Project created through tools provided by the HathiTrust Digital Library.

Trevar Riley-Reid, a Rutgers MLS student working at the Kean University Library, has created a collection within the HathiTrust Digital Library which contains the full text of documents on the history of the state of New Jersey. To access these documents, users can navigate to the HathiTrust Digital Library, click on the Public Collections tab and scroll down to the Kean Univ NJ History Project.

There are currently close to 300 documents in this searchable collection, which includes such works as The Battles in the Jerseys by William Clinton Armstrong and the Report on a Survey of Administration and Expenditures of the State Government of New Jersey, with Recommendations of Economies for the Fiscal Year 1933-34 by the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs (Princeton University). Search results allow a user to go to the page of a document that contains the search term or phrase.

This new initiative on the part of Kean University is an effort to meet the scholarly needs of the people of New Jersey and beyond by creating a digital resource that provides user-friendly access to the full text of documents on New Jersey history. We thank the HathiTrust for providing the tools to make this collection available and such a joy to use. We think it will be a valuable tool for researchers, at all levels.

updated 10/2011