Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
[NJIT logo]

History: What is a database

What are periodicals?

Periodicals are publications issued at regular intervals, such as newspapers, magazines, and journals.

What is in a database?

Databases give you the information needed to find the article

  • Citation – although the index may not contain the article itself, the citation will provide information that you need to find the article.
  • Abstract – It may also include an abstract or summary of the article’s content.
  • Full text – sometimes an index will link to the complete text of an article.

Which databases should I use?

Is your topic general, cross-disciplinary, or currently in the news?  

You can start with SEARCH EVERYTHING - which searches most of the library databases at once.  Then use General Article Indexes like Academic Search Premier and Lexis Nexis. These cover a wide variety of subjects and include a mixture of newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals.

Is your topic in a particular subject area? 

Then use a subject index which specialize in a particular subject, the articles are generally from scholarly peer reviewed sources.Examples are IEEE (Engineering), Avery Index (Architecture), and Business Source Premier (Business & Management). 

●  See the NJIT Library Database page, and click on a subject for recommendations. (scroll down to see results)

●  Search the Research Guides by subject to see which databases are recommended for that discipline.

Why do you use a database?

A database will show you articles that match for your search terms. 

Otherwise, you would have to look through each issue of each periodical for articles on your topic.  Some databases also include books, or references to books, conference proceedings, and other types of reports.  Sometimes the databases include the full text of the source referenced.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Joseph Mercuri
Contact:
Van Houten Library
Central Avenue Building
Room 1040
973-596-8498

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2020 | Robert W. Van Houten Library