Research Guides: History: Finding Research

History Databases: Best Bets at NJIT

Academic Search Premier from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) This link opens in a new window
A finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.
Detail Inspiration This link opens in a new window
Detail Inspiration (DETAIL Verlag) is a full-text database with photos, drawings, and technical information sourced from DETAIL print magazine. It contains thousands of projects/references from 30 years of DETAIL available as pdfs for download. It also includes materials from Structure magazine. Database content is updated monthly.
Last 30 years and up
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 is an archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750. It includes thousands of valuable primary source records covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR includes hundreds of core titles across disciplines including humanities, social sciences, business, science and mathematics, botany, ecology, health sciences, and more.

History Databases: Best Bets at Rutgers

America: History & Life
An index of scholarly literature on United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
American Periodicals
A platform for historical digitized American magazines and journals.
America's Historical Newspapers: Early American Newspapers
Digitized collection of over 1,500 American newspapers published between 1741 and 1922.
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to present, excluding the United States and Canada.
Joint Publication Research Service (JPRS) Reports)
English-language translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from regions throughout the world dating from 1957-1995, with an emphasis on communist and developing countries.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Collections include the Chicago Defender, the Courier Post, the New York Times, the Philadelphia Inquirer, the Pittsburgh Gazette, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the New Jersey Collection.

More Strategies for Finding Research

History is involved in every aspect of society. Think about the interdisciplinary aspects of your research -- try a database with a disciplinary focus to find relevant research to support your project. For example, if you are working on research that involves "environmental justice", you would use an "environmental science" database such as BioOne Complete. You can see a list of NJIT's research databases on the NJIT Library A-Z databases page. Sort them by subject to find extra-disciplinary databases that can help you find more research on your multidisciplinary project.

Take a look at the complete collection of NJIT Library Research Guides to get advice on finding research in another discipline.

NJIT Interdisciplinary Resources:

BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Table of contents access to 200+ peer-reviewed journals in biological, environmental, and ecological science.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides selective full-text, indexing, and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse.
Factiva (Dow Jones) This link opens in a new window
A premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva contains articles from The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today, Barron's, and other major publications.
Findlaw This link opens in a new window
FindLaw's Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. This includes resources pertaining to constitutions, statutes, cases, and more. Run a search for case summaries or select a jurisdiction to browse applicable laws.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of essential publications for research across many disciplines, including art, education, humanities, and technology. It also provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities from 1960 to the present.

Rutgers Interdisciplinary Resources:

HeinOnline
Legal research collection featuring laws and regulations, case law, treaties and agreements, scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals, and related materials.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
An index of scholarship on the history of a wide range of scientific disciplines, including biological science, computer and information sciences, engineering, geography, mathematics, medicine, neurosciences, pharmacy, physics, psychiatry, public health, and technology.
JSTOR
Rutgers has access to more journals in JSTOR.
Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) Digital
A wide range of archival material from state, federal, and territorial governments, as well as from various Anglo-American collections and foreign and international jurisdictions.
Project Muse
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

History of Technology

Engineering and Technology History Wiki

ethw.org