Research Guides: Film and Architecture: Books and Articles

Books

Library of Congress Classification for:

Film Studies:

PN1993 - PN1999

(For a more detailed breakdown see Oxford's Film Studies Classification Guide.)

Video Art:

N6494.V53

Animation:

NC1765

Cinematography:

TR845 - TR899

Subjects and Keywords

Get started by searching these subject headings or keywords in the online library catalogs. The catalog will return results for print and e-books. Books+ will search most of the library's print and electronic holdings, including databases.

Catalog (Print books and e-books): Architecture in motion pictures.

Search All (Books, articles, databases, etc.): Architecture in motion pictures

Art and motion pictures

Motion pictures--Setting and scenery

Motion picture -- Art direction

Cities and towns in motion pictures.

Experimental films

Newspapers

Newspapers can be helpful resources for news, editorials, or reviews on a particular film. Nexis Uni would be your best bet for finding this type of coverage.

(Note that full text coverage for some newspapers is limited. For example, full text for The New York Times only goes back to 1980. However, we do have earlier coverage in print! See New York Times Film Reviews)

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Databases

Art Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An abstract database covers fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture and includes a database-specific thesaurus. Coverage: 1984 - present.
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index database provides access to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes peer-reviewed publications and citations of book reviews. Coverage:1929-1984
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides selective full-text, indexing, and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR includes hundreds of core titles across disciplines including humanities, social sciences, business, science and mathematics, botany, ecology, health sciences, and more.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of essential publications for research across many disciplines, including art, education, humanities, and technology. It also provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
Academic Search Premier from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is useful for known item searching (when you know the specific article, book, or dissertation title you're looking for), however it can be tricky for general keyword or subject searches. For example, one of the first results for the keyword search on film and architecture returns a citation for a film course's Wordpress blog (which is interesting, but not necessarily scholarly).