Research Guides: Chemistry & Environmental Science: Finding Research

About

This page suggests the best databases to use for chemistry and environmental science. Below are slide decks to help you get started in finding research in these areas.

Databases

SciFinder-n (Chemical Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive discovery tool of chemical information, SciFinder is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. This web-based research discovery tool allows access to a wide variety of research disciplines, including biochemistry, chemistry, chemical engineering, materials sciences, physics, environmental science, and engineering.
Web of Science: Core Collection (Art & Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science Citation Indexes) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation database of leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
The Web of Science platform included these core collection databases:
* Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present;
* Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present;
* Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present;
* Conference Proceedings Index 1990-present;
* Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science 1990-present;
* Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities 1990-present;
* Book Citation Index - Science 2005-present;
* Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities 2005-present;
* Emerging Sources Citation Index 2019-present
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities from 1960 to the present.
Knovel Handbooks - Chemistry & Chemical Engineering This link opens in a new window
Full text access is provided to the chemistry and chemical engineering subset of the Knovel Handbooks which provides a searchable database of compendia, data sets and reference sources in engineering, science, and technology. It has a data search feature that allows the researcher to find materials that meet specific parameters including physical, mechanical and thermal properties. Productivity tools include interactive charts, graphs, spreadsheets, and equation plotters. Helpers include an interactive periodical table, an Excel add-in, and a comprehensive unit converter.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Table of contents access to 200+ peer-reviewed journals in biological, environmental, and ecological science.
New Jersey Environmental Digital Library (NJEDL) This link opens in a new window
An online repository of environmental literature and multimedia related to New Jersey. The digital collection includes documents and reports, scientific studies, photographs, videos and maps.

Chemistry & Environmental Science

Need help? Ask me!

About

This page suggests the best databases to use for chemistry and environmental science. Below are slide decks to help you get started in finding research in these areas.

Databases

How to Find Information in Chemistry, Environmental Science, and Chemical Engineering

Scifinder