Research Guides: History of Architecture: Articles

Find Articles Using Databases at NJIT

Following resources are available by subscription and remote access to them requires UCID login. You can learn more about searching databases by reading our guides on Using Databases in Architectural Research, Finding Images in Architecture or visiting by the Tutorials page.

Academic Search Premier from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.

Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index database provides access to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes peer-reviewed publications and citations of book reviews. Coverage:1929-1984
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.

BHA & RILA Indexes ( Getty)
Google Scholar
more...less...
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR includes hundreds of core titles across disciplines including humanities, social sciences, business, science and mathematics, botany, ecology, health sciences, and more.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Important: You must register using your NJIT UCID username/email to obtain access to NYTimes Online. NJIT students, faculty, and staff have 24/7 unlimited access including mobile access to the latest news with the ability to save and set up alerts on articles from 1851 to the present. Limited access to archive content: 5 articles per day for content from 1851 to 2002. This includes access to the InEducation academic resources or learning tools.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of essential publications for research across many disciplines, including art, education, humanities, and technology. It also provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.

To use these databases you need to visit Rutgers' Dana Library