History of Architecture: Writing and Citing

The following books contain some valuable tips for writing your papers:

To learn general information about intellectual property, plagiarism and citing, visit the Research Guide Intellectual Property in the Digital Age.

You can also consult these books in the library:

The majority of the databases listed in this guide provide instruction on how to cite materials from them in various styles. You can also export citations directly from Oxford Art Online, JSTOR/Artstor, Art Full Text  (consult each of them for more specific instruction or read/watch library tutorials on using these databases).

Bibliographic management software enables you to organize references and bibliographies, to import references from electronic databases and the web, and to build a bibliography according to selected styles.

You can use Microsoft Word or special tools for citation management that will do the formatting for you. Among them are EndNote, which can be downloaded from the NJIT website, or Zotero and EasyBib which are freely available on the web. 

You need to acknowledge any resources you used by describing them in a way so that readers can identify and find the source. Citations usually include information on who is responsible for the text, what is the name of the text, who published it, where and when. You must include a citation when you quote the exact words of a source, paraphrase the words or use distinctive ideas found in the source.

You can learn more about citing your sources and creating bibliographies in the library's guide Understanding Citations, which will introduce you to both print and online resources for citation management. You can also watch this video from Purdue University for more information on citations.