Research Guides: Applied Engineering &amp; Technology: Finding Research

Featured Database Resource - Statista

Statista Expert
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.

Applied Engineering and Technology Databases: Best Bets

Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive abstract and citation database from Elsevier. It covers peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It offers tools for tracking research trends, author impact, and institutional performance.
IEEE Xplore
Offers unlimited access to IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, active standards, and backfiles dating to 1884. Covers topics including aerospace, AI, software engineering, telecommunications, biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics.
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill
An engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Citation database of leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

The Web of Science platform included these core collection databases:
* Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present;
* Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present;
* Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present;
* Conference Proceedings Index 1990-present;
* Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science 1990-present;
* Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities 1990-present;
* Book Citation Index - Science 2005-present;
* Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities 2005-present;
* Emerging Sources Citation Index 2019-present

More Strategies for Finding Research

Engineering and technology is involved in every aspect of society. Think about the interdisciplinary aspects of your research -- try a database with a disciplinary focus to find relevant research to support your project. For example, if you are working on research that involves "tissue engineering", you would use a medical or health sciences related database such as B ioMed Central. You can see a list of NJIT's research databases on the NJIT Library A-Z databases page. Sort them by subject to find extra-disciplinary databases that can help you find more research on your multidisciplinary project.

Take a look at the complete collection of NJIT Library Research Guides to get advice on finding research in another discipline.

Interdisciplinary Resources:

Resources for Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology:

ACM Digital Library
Database of full-text articles and bibliographic literature covering computing and information technology from 1908 to the present time.
ECS Digital Library (Institute of Physics)
Search publications from the Electrochemical Society (ECS), including journals and ECS Transactions
SPIE Digital Library Proceedings
The SPIE Digital Library is the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. The collection spans biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging.
Springer Nature Link: Computer Science eBooks
The Springer Computer Science eBook Collection, featuring the renowned Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series, provides access to current research in computer science. NJIT users have full-text access to a selected subset of Springer journals and monographs. Coverage: 2014–present.

Resources for Mechanical Engineering Technology:

ASME Digital Collection
Full-text archive of American Society of Mechanical Engineers Transaction journals, conference proceedings (PDFs), and ASME ebook publications. NJIT's subscription includes access to a selection of ASME journals.

Resources for Biomedical Engineering Technology and Medical Informatics:

BioOne Complete
Table of contents access to 200+ peer-reviewed journals in biological, environmental, and ecological science.
BMC, Research in Progress
BioMed Central provides access to meeting abstracts and peer-reviewed articles in biology and medical journals published by Springer Nature.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect Complete Freedom Collection is a premier peer-reviewed resource for science, technology, and health. It offers full-text access to Elsevier journals from 1995 to present, covering core subjects in science, technology, medicine, and psychology, with select titles in the arts, humanities, economics, finance, and social sciences.

Resources for Construction:

ASTM Compass (ASTM International Standards)
Access to active (most current) ASTM standards documents that are updated weekly. ASTM standards provide consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services in areas such as metals, petroleum, construction, rubber, the environment and more.

Resources for Manufacturing:

BCC Research
A database of selected technology market research reports, reviews, and technology newsletters. Reports cover categories including advanced materials, chemicals, engineering, environment, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, and nanotechnology. Authorized NJIT members can search the database but must contact an NJIT Librarian to download a report.
urbanNext
A multiformat platform focused on the development and dissemination of content about contemporary urban environments on a global scale. Covers energy, sustainability, technology, manufacturing, future cities, politics, economics, mobility, migrants’ movement, and social inequalities, among others.
TRB Weekly (Transportation Research Board)
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database from 1960 to current.

Applied Engineering & Technology

Need Help? Ask Me!