Research Guides: Applied Engineering &amp; Technology: Patents

Patent Resources

Espacenet
Europe's network of patent databases. Search for patent applications in their original language from the European Patent Office and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Ways to search include title, abstract, application number, and more.
Google Patents
Google Patents provides access to United States patents from the 1790s to the present. It also includes patents from around the world that have been translated. Searchers can easily download the pdf of a patent found in the database.
The Lens
Australia, European, United States, and WIPO patent documents.
PATENTSCOPE
Patent search tool from the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). Includes cross-lingual information retrieval and machine translation for several languages. Searches worldwide patents and links to documents in their national databases.
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
United States Patents. The full-text of patents are available free of charge. The database can be searched using any number of fields, including keyword, title, patent number, applicant name, and assignee name.

SciFinder-n (Chemical Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive discovery tool of chemical information, SciFinder is a user-friendly version of Chemical Abstracts. This web-based research discovery tool allows access to a wide variety of research disciplines, including biochemistry, chemistry, chemical engineering, materials sciences, physics, environmental science, and engineering.