Mechanics of Biomaterials - Aims to serve as a forum for communicating the latest findings and trends in the study of the mechanical behavior of biomedical materials.
Inorganic Biomaterials - Discusses specific fundamental aspects of inorganic biomaterials and their biomedical and dental applications.
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Introduction to Hydrology - Developed by Professor Steve Margulis at UCLA. This free textbook provides a broad foundation in the topics of hydrologic science including: mass balance, basic atmospheric thermodynamics, radiation, atmospheric circulation, precipitation, snow, evapotranspiration, unsaturated flow and infiltration, groundwater, and runoff.
Electrical & Computer Engineering
A First Course in Electrical & Computer Engineering - Developed by Louis Scharf at Colorado State University. This book was written for an experimental freshman course at the University of Colorado. The course is now an elective that the majority of our electrical and computer engineering students take in the second semester of their freshman year, just before their first circuits course
Electromagnetics Volume 1 - Developed by Steven W. Ellingson this is a 224 page, freely available, peer-reviewed, full color, print and digital open educational resource. It is intended to serve as a primary textbook for a one-semester first course in undergraduate engineering electromagnetics within the third year of a bachelor of science degree program.
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering 1 - Developed by Don Jonson at Rice University. The course focuses on the creation, manipulation, transmission, and reception of information by electronic means. Elementary signal theory; time- and frequency-domain analysis; Sampling Theorem. Digital information theory; digital transmission of analog signals; error-correcting codes
Basics of Fluid Mechanics - Developed by Genick Bar-Meir at Colorado State University. This book describes the fundamentals of ﬂuid mechanics phenomena for engineers and others. This book is designed to replace all introductory textbooks or instructor’s notes for the ﬂuid mechanics in undergraduate classes for engineering/science students but also for technical peoples. It is hoped that the book could be used as a reference book for people who have at least some basic knowledge of science areas such as calculus, physics, etc.
Short Online Courses
Computational Electronics - Developed by Dragica Vasileska, Arizona State University. Introduces students to all semi-classical semiconductor device modeling techniques that are implemented in either commercial or publicly available software. Helps students to understand when one can use drift-diffusion model and when it is necessary to use hydrodynamic, lattice heating, and even particle-based simulations.
College Open Textbooks - College Open Textbooks (COT) has many textbooks in Engineering such as Circuits, Fluid mechanics, Communication systems, Linear electronics and is one of the premier resources for locating and adopting open-licensed textbooks and other Open Educational Resources (OERs). COT offers: over 850 titles, curated specifically for two-year colleges—but also appropriate for many lower-division courses at four-year colleges; a comprehensive catalogue of links to resources hosted by a wide range of online repositories and other sites; peer and accessibility reviews of selected titles, and mentoring online professional networks that support for authors opening their resources, and other services (From COT)
Collaborative Open Resource Environment – for Materials - The CORE-Materials repository contains 1670 open educational resources (OERs) in Materials Science and Engineering, freely available under a range of Creative Commons licenses.
National Academies Press - The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and the world. The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book. Many of the books published by the Transportation Research Board are available as free PDFs through NAP.
The Library provides access to databases that contain e-books, e-journals, images, videos, etc. that can be used to supplement textbooks and other course materials. To learn more, see the following:
ASM Handbooks Online
Features the complete content of twenty-eight ASM Handbook volumes of comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology; several ASM Handbook supplements, and two ASM Desk Editions. Over 25,000 pages of articles, illustrations, tables, graphs, specifications and practical example
This provides a searchable database of compendia, data sets and reference sources in engineering, science, and technology. It has a data search feature that allows the researcher to find materials that meet specific parameters including physical, mechanical and thermal properties.