Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Architecture, Art and Design

Digital Libraries, Museums, Collections of Videos, etc.

19th century art worldwide

These are just selected resources that can be used to supplement course materials. For more information you might want to check Littman Library website and research guides.

Resources at NJIT

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.

The University Libraries provides access to databases that contain e-books, e-journals, images, videos, etc. that can be used to supplement textbooks and other course materials. To learn more, see the following:

ACM Digital Library
Alternate Name(s): Association for Computing Machinery
Database of full-text articles and bibliographic literature covering computing and information technology from 1908 to the present time.
Art Abstracts (EBSCO)
An abstract database covers fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture and includes a database-specific thesaurus. Coverage: 1984 - present.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929–1984 (EBSCO)
An index database provides access to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes peer-reviewed publications and citations of book reviews. Coverage:1929-1984
ARTSTOR
ARTSTOR interface retired. See JSTOR Images.
Complete image resource covering a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of one's discipline.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCO)
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.
BuildingGreen
Limited Availability: please see Maya Gervits at the Littman Library for further information. BuildingGreen Suite offers practical, searchable information on sustainable building, including energy efficiency, materials, and indoor air quality. It integrates GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and high-performance building case studies, cross-referenced by LEED credit, CSI MasterFormat, and green topics.
CumInCAD
The Cumulative Index of Computer-Aided Architectural Design (CuminCAD) indexes publications on computer-aided architectural design. Coverage begins in 1988 with selective coverage dating back to 1960. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in pdf format, of thousands of papers are also available. CuminCAD is supported by the sibling associations ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SIGraDi, ASCAAD, and CAAD futures.

Digital Archive of Newark Architecture

GreenFILE (EBSCO)
GreenFILE is a research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Grove Art Online
Access is available for 3 simultaneous users. The Grove Dictionary of Art Online contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Entries include bibliographic information with related resources.
JSTOR
The JSTOR includes hundreds of core titles across disciplines including humanities, social sciences, business, science and mathematics, botany, ecology, health sciences, and more.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic)
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Littman Library Image Database

Material ConneXion
Material ConneXion maintains the world’s largest subscription-based materials library, with thousands of innovative materials and processes across all disciplines of design. Users can search and browse by physical properties such as texture and stiffness, performance properties such as fire and water resistance, sustainability and more.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO)
A full-text database of essential publications for research across many disciplines, including art, education, humanities, and technology. It also provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
Patentscope: World Intellectual Property Organization
The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to the international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices. The information may be searched by entering keywords, names of applicants, international patent classification and many other search criteria in multiple languages.

RILA and BHA

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect Complete Freedom Collection is a premier peer-reviewed resource for science, technology, and health. It offers full-text access to Elsevier journals from 1995 to present, covering core subjects in science, technology, medicine, and psychology, with select titles in the arts, humanities, economics, finance, and social sciences.
Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive abstract and citation database from Elsevier. It covers peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It offers tools for tracking research trends, author impact, and institutional performance.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an authoritative and comprehensive reference work devoted to philosophy that will remain useful to those in academia and the general public.
Stash
Streaming media platform focuses on motion design, animation, and visual effects (VFX).
Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies
Limited Availability: please see Maya Gervits at the Littman Library for further information.
Access detailed case studies on projects from low-income housing to commercial and industrial developments. Each includes photos, site plans, costs, rents, innovative features, and development strategies. Coverage: 1985–present

US Patent

Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library offers a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources across life, health, physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to journals and other scholarly content. NJIT’s access includes selected journals and resources only.