It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to the Littman Library: Journals and Databases
This guide will introduce you to the Littman Library, its collections and services.
The Littman Library subscribes to many periodicals from around the world. Print journals from the current year are located in the quiet reading area and are shelved in alphabetical order. All previous years' journals can be found in aisles 10-21 and are shelved according to the Library of Congress classification system. Journals can be used in the library only. To find out if the library subscribes to a particular journal, check our list of journals (also available at the circulation desk) or use the Full-text Journal Finder. Many of our periodicals are available electronically. They can be accessed on campus from any computer with an internet connection or remotely (for off-campus access you need to log in using your UCID).
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring high-quality indexing and abstracting of periodicals, dissertations, and reproductions of artworks. The database covers fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Coverage: 1984 - present.
Artstor provides faculty and students with a complete image resource covering a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of one's discipline. Contains hundreds collections composed of over two million images (and growing).
BHA provides coverage of American and international scholarly journals in art and architectural history, including two earlier periodical indexes: Repertoire international de la ltterature de l'art (RILA) and Repertoire d'art et archeologie (RAA) and European and American art and architecture dating from late antiquity. It indexes and abstracts materials in various formats including books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and journal articles covering the period from 1973-2007.
Detail Inspiration (DETAIL Verlag) is a full-text database with photos, drawings, and technical information sourced from DETAIL print magazine. It contains thousands of projects/references from 30 years of DETAIL available as pdfs for download. It also includes materials from Structure magazine. Database content is updated monthly.
The information portal includes plans of the city, architectural drawings, old photographs and postcards, rare books, articles in periodicals, monographs, exhibition catalogs, student projects, as well as links to already existing online materials.
Access is available for 3 simultaneous users. The Grove Dictionary of Art Online contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Entries include bibliographic information with related resources.
Material ConneXion maintains the world’s largest subscription-based materials library, with thousands of innovative materials and processes across all disciplines of design. Users can search and browse by physical properties such as texture and stiffness, performance properties such as fire and water resistance, sustainability and more.
Nexis Uni features business and legal sources from LexisNexis including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. The database offers personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
A full-text database of essential publications for research across many disciplines, including art, education, humanities, and technology. It also provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.