Research Guides: Introduction to the Littman Library: Finding Images in Architecture

Find Images in Books

The majority of architectural images such as site plans, elevations, floor plans, sections, and details can be found not online but rather in books: encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, histories, catalogues, and monographs.The following are just a few selected titles from the Reference section that can be used for your research. To find more books, search the library's online catalog.

World architecture index by Teague,E.
ISBN: 9780313225529
This is a reference tool for finding images of approximately 7,000 architectural works reproduced in more than 100 books
World architecture 1900-2000: a critical mosaics by ed. by K.Frampton
ISBN: 3211832831
This 10 volumes set gives a most precise and authoritative description of 1000 famous objects in ten geographical regions.
Le Corbusier et Pierre Jeanneret : œuvre complète de 1929-1934 /
The Mies van der Rohe Archive, 20vv.
Richard Rogers : complete works
Renzo Piano Building Workshop : complete works /
The Louis I. Kahn archive.

Finding Images in Print Journals

To locate images in journals, search databases by consulting our list of journals (also available at the front desk) or by using the Full-Text Journal Finder. The Avery Index in particular is an excellent database for architectural journals. If NJIT does not own a particular title or issue, you can use the Document Delivery service to obtain it from another institution's library.

Find Images Using Databases at NJIT

The following resources are available by subscription and remote access to them requires UCID login.

Art Bibliographies Modern

Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index database provides access to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes peer-reviewed publications and citations of book reviews. Coverage:1929-1984
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
ARTSTOR interface will be retired on August 1st, 2024. Now see JSTOR Images.
Complete image resource covering a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of one's discipline.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.

BHA & RILA Indexes ( Getty)

BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
Limited Availability: please see Maya Gervits at the Littman Library for further information. The online resource features comprehensive, practical information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building--from energy efficiency and recycled-content materials to land-use planning and indoor air quality. The BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of hundreds of high-performance building case studies. This wealth of information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.

Digital Archive of Newark Architecture
more...less...
The information portal includes plans of the city, architectural drawings, old photographs and postcards, rare books, articles in periodicals, monographs, exhibition catalogs, student projects, as well as links to already existing online materials.

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access is available for 3 simultaneous users. The Grove Dictionary of Art Online contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Entries include bibliographic information with related resources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR includes hundreds of core titles across disciplines including humanities, social sciences, business, science and mathematics, botany, ecology, health sciences, and more.

Littman Library Image Database

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Important: You must register using your NJIT UCID username/email to obtain access to NYTimes Online. NJIT students, faculty, and staff have 24/7 unlimited access including mobile access to the latest news with the ability to save and set up alerts on articles from 1851 to the present. Limited access to archive content: 5 articles per day for content from 1851 to 2002. This includes access to the InEducation academic resources or learning tools.
Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies This link opens in a new window
Limited Availability: please see Maya Gervits at the Littman Library for further information.
Access to hundreds of detailed case studies of completed projects ranging from low-income housing to mixed-use downtown developments to commercial and industrial projects. Case studies provide photographs and site plans, information on costs and rents, innovative features and strategies of the project, and an explanation of the entire development process. Coverage: 1985 - present.

Find Images Using Databases at Rutgers

To use this database you need to visit Dana Library at the Rutgers Newark Campus.

America: History & Life

Free Image Resources on the Web

There are numerous collections of digital images available on the web. Below you will find links to those selected and recommended by library staff.

Subject Guide

Maya Gervits

Search Engines

Images can be found on the Web by using specialized search engines: