Research Guides: Environmental Inequality in Postwar America: News Media

Why Newspapers?

You can use historical newspapers to find out how issues and events were reported during a specific time in history.

Interested in Newark Newspapers?

See the Newspapers page on the Newark Experience site. (Rutgers Guide)

Historical Newspapers and Newsreels

New York Times (Registration Page)
Important: You must register using your NJIT UCID username/email to obtain access to NYTimes Online.
New York Times (Newspaper)
NJIT students, faculty, and staff have 24/7 unlimited access including mobile access to breaking news stories, multimedia content, videos, with the ability to share, save, set up alerts, and comment on articles from 1851 to the present. Limited access to archive content. From 1923 to 1980, access is limited to 5 articles per day. This includes access to the In Education academic resources or learning tools.
Google News Archive Search (Historical Newspapers)
Search or Browse issues of old newspapers. Google has since abandoned this project of digitizing old newspapers, but the ones done are still available.
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
From the Library of Congress
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Elephind.com: Search the World's Historical Newspaper Archive
The purpose of Elephind.com is to make it possible to search all of the world’s free digital newspapers from one place and at one time. A work in progress.
British Pathe (newsreels)
British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance. Spanning the years from 1896 to 1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.

Contemporary Accounts: U.S. Media

Factiva (Dow Jones) This link opens in a new window
A premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva contains articles from The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today, Barron's, and other major publications.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Alternative Press

Independent Voices: Full text access to alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States in the latter half of the twentieth century, including periodicals produced by radical student organizations; LGBT, African-American, Native American, and Latino activists; feminists, dissident military personnel, and others.

What about newspapers that haven't been digitized?

One option is to check the Newspapers at the Center for Research Libraries. CRL has more than 12,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers (current and restrospective) at their facility in Chicago. Because the Rutgers Libraries are members, CRL will lend copies of newspapers (usually on microfilm) to Rutgers researchers .