Research Guides: Civil &amp; Environmental Engineering: Scholarly Sources for CEE

Why use scholarly sources?

Scholarly sources provide peer-reviewed original research articles and review articles. Engineers and scientists in academia, industry and government institutes continue to do research on all aspects of engineering design including materials, testing, sustainability and more.

Journal Articles -- present new research results based on specific experiments that follow a scientific method

Review Articles -- tell the story of research on a topic and report on usually hundreds of papers on a topic

Conference papers -- in engineering these are often peer-reviewed and provide important updates on a research project

Find Civil Engineering and Environmental Engineering scholarly research in the sources suggested below.

Best Bets for discovering research papers in Civil Engineering and Environmental Engineering

Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive abstract and citation database from Elsevier. It covers peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It offers tools for tracking research trends, author impact, and institutional performance.
ASCE Library
Online full-text database providing the contents of peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, e-books, and standards published in civil engineering.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
GreenFILE is a research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Engineering Database (ProQuest Central)
Provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning numerous publications, many in full text.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Citation database of leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

The Web of Science platform included these core collection databases:
* Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present;
* Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present;
* Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present;
* Conference Proceedings Index 1990-present;
* Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science 1990-present;
* Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities 1990-present;
* Book Citation Index - Science 2005-present;
* Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities 2005-present;
* Emerging Sources Citation Index 2019-present

More strategies for finding research

Civil and Environmental Engineering touch every aspect of society. Think about the interdisciplinary aspects of your research -- try a database with a disciplinary focus to find relevant research to support your project. For example, if you are working on research that involves "sensor positioning", you would use an "electrical engineering" database such as IEEEXplore.. You can see a list of NJIT's research databases on the NJIT Library A-Z Electronic Resources page. Sort them by subject to find extra-disciplinary databases that can help you find more research on your multidisciplinary project.

Take a look at the complete collection of NJIT Library Research Guides to get advice on finding research in another discipline.

Civil & Environmental Engineering Journal List

Looking to see if NJIT subscribes to a particular journal? Use the Journal Finder.

Browse titles we subscribe to with the following links:

Civil Engineering

Environmental Engineering

If you need an article from a journal not on our list, request it via Interlibrary Loan -- we'll get you a copy.

Top Ranked Civil Engineering Journals according to Scopus

Scopus ranks journals in disciplinary categories according to an algorithm based on multiple variables. Here are the top 10 ranked Civil and Structural Engineering journals ranked with data from 2022:

1. Water Research

2. Sustainable Cities and Society

3. Computer-Aided Civil and Infrastructure Engineering

4. Automation in Construction

5. Transportation Research Part C: Emerging Technologies

6. Mechanical Systems and Signal Processing

7. Energy

8. Transportation Research Part E: Logistics and Transportation Review

9. Transportation Research Part B: Methodological

10. Construction and Building Materials