Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Books, eBooks and Handbooks

Handbooks at NJIT Libraries == Best Bets

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): American Society for Metals Information
Provides convenient access to the world's largest collection of information and data on the composition, structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of engineering materials.
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
Knovel Handbooks - Chemistry & Chemical Engineering This link opens in a new window
Full text access is provided to the chemistry and chemical engineering subset of the Knovel Handbooks which provides a searchable database of compendia, data sets and reference sources in engineering, science, and technology. It has a data search feature that allows the researcher to find materials that meet specific parameters including physical, mechanical and thermal properties. Productivity tools include interactive charts, graphs, spreadsheets, and equation plotters. Helpers include an interactive periodical table, an Excel add-in, and a comprehensive unit converter.

Online Resources

MatWeb
Searchable database of material properties. Includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, ceramics, semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

Engineering Toolbox

Tools and basic information for design, engineering, and construction of technical applications.

Why use handbooks?

Handbooks are trusted and reliable sources of many kinds of information that practicing engineers need to have "on hand." Many have been around for generations and are now available online.

Handbooks provide information such as:

Material properties (elasticity, density, types of strength…) under various conditions
Introductory materials
Data/Tables/Figures
References
Definitions
Formulae

Citing handbooks

How do you cite a handbook in APA style?

Information from handbooks are often cited as a chapter from an edited book in APA Style

The information you need to include (if available) Is the following:

Author(s) of the chapter
Date of publication of the chapter
Title of the chapter
Editor(s) of the book
Title of the book
Chapter page numbers (e.g., 25-39)
Publisher
Either a DOI or URL if you are using an electronic resources

Examples of citations from handbooks using APA Style:

Chapter in a multivolume edited handbook:

Destefani, J. (1990). Introduction to Titanium and Titanium Alloys. In ASM Handbook Committee (Eds.), Properties and Selection: Nonferrous Alloys and Special-Purpose Material. ASM International. https://doi.org/10.31399/asm.hb.v02.a0001080

Chapter in a single volume handbook:

Peters, S. (2002). Composite Materials and Processes. In C. Harper (Ed.) Handbook of Plastics, Elastomers, and Composites. McGraw-Hill.

https://www-accessengineeringlibrary-com.libdb.njit.edu:8443/content/book/9780071384766/chapter/chapter4

See these resources for more information and examples:

Chapter in an edited book/Ebook References. from the APA

Missing Information for References from the APA