Citations

Examples:

[1]  S. Shoemaker, Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 2003.

[2]  J. Lagerstrom, S. Winkelman, U. Grothkopf, and M. Bishop, “Observatory bibliographies: current practices,” in Observatory Operations: Strategies, Processes, and Systems IV, SPIE, Sep. 2012, pp. 565–572. doi: 10.1117/12.925482.

[3]  T. C. Lim and R. Singh, “Vibration transmission through rolling element bearings, part I: Bearing stiffness formulation,” Journal of Sound and Vibration, vol. 139, no. 2, pp. 179–199, Jun. 1990, doi: 10.1016/0022-460X(90)90882-Z.

Resources:

IEEE Reference Guide

IEEE Citation Style Tutorial Video from Cal Poly Pomona University Library

IEEE Style Guide -- very thorough examples from the Naval Postgraduate School Library
 

Examples:

Lagerstrom, J. et al. (2012) ‘Observatory bibliographies: current practices’, in Observatory Operations: Strategies, Processes, and Systems IV. Observatory Operations: Strategies, Processes, and Systems IV, SPIE, pp. 565–572. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1117/12.925482

Lim, T.C. and Singh, R. (1990) ‘Vibration transmission through rolling element bearings, part I: Bearing stiffness formulation’, Journal of Sound and Vibration, 139(2), pp. 179–199. Available at: https://doi.org/10.1016/0022-460X(90)90882-Z.

Shoemaker, S. (2003) Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays. Oxford: Clarendon Press.

Resources:

Quick guide to Harvard referencing from The Open University

Examples:

(1)  Shoemaker, S. Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays; Clarendon Press, 2003.

(2)  Lagerstrom, J.; Winkelman, S.; Grothkopf, U.; Bishop, M. Observatory Bibliographies: Current Practices. In Observatory Operations: Strategies, Processes, and Systems IV; SPIE, 2012; Vol. 8448, pp 565–572. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.925482.

(3)  Lim, T. C.; Singh, R. Vibration Transmission through Rolling Element Bearings, Part I: Bearing Stiffness Formulation. Journal of Sound and Vibration 1990, 139 (2), 179–199. https://doi.org/10.1016/0022-460X(90)90882-Z.

Resources:

ACS Style Quick Guide

Examples:

Lagerstrom, Jill, Sherry Winkelman, Uta Grothkopf, and Marsha Bishop. 2012. “Observatory Bibliographies: Current Practices.” In Observatory Operations: Strategies, Processes, and Systems IV, 8448:565–72. SPIE. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.925482.

Lim, T. C., and R. Singh. 1990. “Vibration Transmission through Rolling Element Bearings, Part I: Bearing Stiffness Formulation.” Journal of Sound and Vibration 139 (2): 179–99. https://doi.org/10.1016/0022-460X(90)90882-Z.

Shoemaker, Sydney. 2010. Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays. Oxford: Clarendon Press.

Resources:

Chicago Manual of Style Author-Date Sample Citations (note that the CMOS offers different variations in creating a reference system for a manuscript).

Examples:

¹ S. Shoemaker, Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays (Clarendon Press, 2003).

² J. Lagerstrom, “Measuring the Impact of the Hubble Space Telescope: open data as a catalyst for science,” in World Library and Information Congress: 76th IFLA, (2010).

³ T.C. Lim, and R. Singh, “Vibration transmission through rolling element bearings, part I: Bearing stiffness formulation,” Journal of Sound and Vibration 139(2), 179–199 (1990).

Resources:

For the best AIP examples, consult the AIP’s Author Instructions page. Note that different AIP journals have different citation formats. Overleaf provides AIP LaTeX Templates.

Examples:

Lagerstrom, J., Winkelman, S., Grothkopf, U., & Bishop, M. (2012). Observatory bibliographies: Current practices. In Observatory Operations: Strategies, Processes, and Systems IV, 8448, 565–572. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.925482

Lim, T. C., & Singh, R. (1990). Vibration transmission through rolling element bearings, part I: Bearing stiffness formulation. Journal of Sound and Vibration, 139(2), 179–199. https://doi.org/10.1016/0022-460X(90)90882-Z

Shoemaker, S. (2010). Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays. Clarendon Press.

Resources:

Reference Examples APA Style -- from the APA

Examples:

[1] Jill Lagerstrom, Sherry Winkelman, Uta Grothkopf, and Marsha Bishop. 2012. Observatory bibliographies: current practices. In Observatory Operations: Strategies, Processes, and Systems IV, September 13, 2012. SPIE, 565–572. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.925482

[2] T. C. Lim and R. Singh. 1990. Vibration transmission through rolling element bearings, part I: Bearing stiffness formulation. Journal of Sound and Vibration 139, 2 (June 1990), 179–199. https://doi.org/10.1016/0022-460X(90)90882-Z

[3] Sydney Shoemaker. 2010. Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays. Clarendon Press, Oxford.

Resources: 

ACM's page Citation Style and Reference Formats

Examples:

Lagerstrom, J. 2010. “Measuring the impact of the Hubble Space Telescope: open data as a catalyst for science.” World Library and Information Congress: 76th IFLA.

Lim, T. C., and R. Singh. 1990. “Vibration transmission through rolling element bearings, part I: Bearing stiffness formulation.” Journal of Sound and Vibration, 139 (2), 179–199. https://doi.org/10.1016/0022-460X(90)90882-Z.

Shoemaker, S. 2003. Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays. Oxford: Clarendon Press.

Resources:

About ASCE Journals – scroll down for examples. Also consult the LaTeX template on Overleaf.

Examples:

1.  Shoemaker S. Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays. Clarendon Press; 2003.

2.  Lagerstrom J. Measuring the impact of the Hubble Space Telescope: open data as a catalyst for science. In: World Library and Information Congress: 76th IFLA.; 2010.

3.  Lim TC, Singh R. Vibration transmission through rolling element bearings, part I: Bearing stiffness formulation. Journal of Sound and Vibration. 1990;139(2):179-199. doi:10.1016/0022-460X(90)90882-Z

Resources:

AMA Style from Purdue Owl   

   Himmelfarb Library AMA Citation  Research Guide – very thorough with many examples. 

Examples:

1.  Lim TC, Singh R. Vibration transmission through rolling element bearings, part I: Bearing stiffness formulation. Journal of Sound and Vibration. 1990 Jun 8;139(2):179-199.

2.  Shoemaker S. Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays. Oxford: Clarendon Press; 2010. 476 p.

3.  Lagerstrom J, Winkelman S, Grothkopf U, Bishop M. Observatory bibliographies: current practices. In: Observatory Operations: Strategies, Processes, and Systems IV [Internet]. SPIE; 2012 [cited 2025 May 19]. p. 565–72. Available from: https://www.spiedigitallibrary.org/conference-proceedings-of-spie/8448/84481X/Observatory-bibliographies-current-practices/10.1117/12.925482.full

Resources:

Vancouver - Reference Guide -- an extensive research guide from Murdoch University

Examples: (Transportation Research Part A)

Lagerstrom, J., Winkelman, S., Grothkopf, U., Bishop, M., 2012. Observatory bibliographies: current practices, in: Observatory Operations: Strategies, Processes, and Systems IV. Presented at the Observatory Operations: Strategies, Processes, and Systems IV, SPIE, pp. 565–572. https://doi.org/10.1117/12.925482

Lim, T.C., Singh, R., 1990. Vibration transmission through rolling element bearings, part I: Bearing stiffness formulation. Journal of Sound and Vibration 139, 179–199. https://doi.org/10.1016/0022-460X(90)90882-Z

Shoemaker, S., 2010. Identity, Cause, and Mind: Philosophical Essays. Clarendon Press, Oxford.

Resources: 

See examples on TRB's page Writing and Format of Reports