Business Information

🏭 Industry-Specific Sources

This section will help you gather data, ratios, overviews, and classification codes relevant to specific industries. Combine these with company research tools (see the Companies tab) for a more complete view.

🔎 Business Databases for Industry Research

Use these core NJIT business databases to begin your search:

• Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

• Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)

• Crunchbase (Free registration required)

• HeinOnline for legal and industry data

📰 Trade Publications & Industry Overviews

• SelectUSA Industry Snapshots – From the U.S. Department of Commerce. A quick overview by sector with links to relevant associations.

• Industries at a Glance (BLS) – Bureau of Labor Statistics data on employment, wages, and productivity by industry.

• Market Cap by Industry (Fidelity) – Explanation and breakdown by GICS sector.

📊 Financial Ratios & Industry Benchmarks

💡 In Factiva to find industry financial ratios:

1. Use the Companies/Markets menu → Select Industry.

2. Choose your industry → Scroll to the lower left-hand side to view ratios.

📚 Reference Tools (Print & Ready Reference)

• Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios (D&B)
  Call Number: Ready Ref HF5681.R25 I533
  Derived from Dun & Bradstreet data on U.S. public and private companies.

• RMA Annual Statement Studies
  Call Number: Ready Ref HF5681.B2 R59
  Comparative financial data from small/medium-sized businesses.

• Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios – Leo Troy
  Call Number: Ready Ref HF5681.R25 A45
  Uses NAICS for over 50 financial indicators across North America.

• Key Management Ratios – Ciaran Walsh
  Call Number: HF5681.R25 W347 2006
  A practical guide to interpreting performance ratios.

🧾 SIC & NAICS Industry Classification Systems

What Are They?

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) are numerical classification systems created by the United States government.  These systems are used to group/classify like companies into industries for the purposes of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The SIC system was originally developed in the 1930s and was last updated in 1987.  The NAICS system was first released in 2002 and last updated in 2017. 

While NAICS has "officially" replaced SIC, many business directories and databases still use one or both of the systems.  Therefore, it is important to know about both SIC and NAICS.

• The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) consists of four digit numbers that apply to a company based on the type of products or services it produces.
  • An example of an SIC Code is:  5812 = Eating Places
• The newer North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) employs six digits to allow for a more detailed system of industry classification. 
  • An example of a NAICS Code is: 722110 = Full Service Restaurants

Some library databases, books, and web sites allow you to search using SIC and/or NAICS codes.  Therefore, it is very important to know what the industry classification code is, before beginning your research.

Many databases still use both systems—understanding your industry's codes is essential for efficient research.

🎥 NAICS Codes Explained – 4-min Video

🔗 Where to Look:

• NAICS Codes (via U.S. Census Bureau) – Searchable and browseable manuals for 2017, 2007, 2002

• SIC Codes (via U.S. Department of Labor) – 1987 searchable manual

🏛️ Government Sources for Industry

• SelectUSA Industry Snapshots (Commerce Dept.)

• Bureau of Labor Statistics – Industries at a Glance

• U.S. Census Bureau – Economic Indicators

📈 Analyst Reports & Market Insights

• NJIT databases such as Factiva and Business Source Premier often include reports from:

  • Zacks Investment Research

  • MarketLine

  • Morningstar (via company profiles)

AI Disclosure Statement: ChatGPT-4 (OpenAI, 2025) was used to assist with organizing the structure and layout of this portion of the research guide. All factual content, citations, and sources were independently verified by the author for accuracy and alignment with institutional guidelines.

🏢 Basic Information on Nonprofits

This section provides tools and guidance to help you research nonprofit organizations, foundations, IRS filings, and related governance data. These resources are especially helpful for students studying nonprofit management, philanthropy, public policy, or social enterprise.

🔍 Basic Information

GuideStar (by Candid)

Mission:  To gather and disseminate information about every IRS-registered nonprofit organization including each nonprofit's mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, governance, and more.

The Foundation Center (in NYC): The leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide.  Foundation Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants (Foundation Directory Online is available onsite at any Rutgers Library.)

More links on NonProfits

Foundation Center / Candid

A leading source for global grant maker data, funding trends, and philanthropy research.

• Foundation Directory Online (FDO) – Available onsite at any Rutgers Library

• Catalog of Nonprofit Literature – Books, reports, and academic literature on nonprofits

• Links to Nonprofit Resources

🧾 IRS Filings & Tax Status

IRS Form 990 & 990-PF

• Annual financial disclosure form filed by tax-exempt organizations

• Learn to Read a 990 – “Demystify the 990”

IRS Exempt Organizations Select Check

Search for:

• Whether an organization is tax-exempt

• Eligibility to receive tax-deductible contributions

• Filing status and revocations

How to Apply for 501(c)(3) Status

Step-by-step guidance from the IRS for new nonprofit organizations.

🗂️ Additional Tools & Directories

• Nonprofit Organization Lookup – Quick search by EIN, name, or location

• New Jersey Nonprofit Information Center – Resources specific to NJ-based nonprofits

• 4Good (archived) – A now-defunct social network for nonprofit professionals; past resources are available via Internet Archive

AI Disclosure Statement: ChatGPT-4 (OpenAI, 2025) was used to assist with organizing the structure and layout of this portion of the research guide. All factual content, citations, and sources were independently verified by the author for accuracy and alignment with institutional guidelines.

🔍 Core Market & Business Research Tools

Statista Expert - a great place to find ready-made statistics on a wide range of topics including media, business, technology, politics, society, and education. It draws from market reports, trade publications, government data, and scholarly sources. You can export visualizations in formats like PNG, Excel, PDF, and PowerPoint — perfect for presentations and business plans.

Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes an excellent series of business reference handbooks, offering market research insights in areas such as consumer behavior, B2B marketing, media, tourism, sports, and international markets. These are especially useful for spotting trends and understanding industry dynamics.

Sage Data, powered by Data Planet, allows you to visualize and explore data from trusted global providers. This multidisciplinary tool works well across academic and applied settings and is helpful for assignments that need charts, maps, or comparative statistics.

Also worth exploring is the Small Business Administration’s Market Research and Competitive Analysis Guide, which offers free government data and best practices for building a market profile.

Quick research strategy: ask yourself, "Who would care about collecting this data?" For instance, would the World Health Organization track it? Would the Census Bureau? Let that guide your source selection. Another strategy is to search for peer-reviewed literature — while it may not give you direct market data, it can often point to where such data is collected or cited.

🏛 U.S. Government Sources and Datasets

For population data, consult the U.S. Census.

Other related tables and surveys from the U.S. Census Bureau include the American Community Survey, County and City Data Book (latest edition from 2007), County Business Patterns, Economic Census, Metropolitan and Micropolitan statistical areas, State and County QuickFacts, and the Statistical Abstract of the United States.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) provides rich datasets such as the Consumer Expenditure Survey, American Time Use Survey, and Metropolitan Area Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates. These are essential for understanding consumer behavior and workforce trends.

The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of around 50,000 U.S. households, conducted by the Census Bureau for the BLS. It provides key indicators like employment, unemployment, earnings, and work hours.

The Census Bureau also administers several other periodic surveys: the American Community Survey (ACS), American Housing Survey (AHS), Housing Vacancies and Homeownership (HVS), Residential Finance Survey (HUD), Survey of Business Owners (SBO), and Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).

You’ll also find valuable historical economic and demographic information in the Local Area Personal Income tables from the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). These tables provide 30+ years of personal income data by county — ideal for regional research.

Some historical employment data is preserved in the State of the Cities Data Systems from HUD, along with city demographic profiles and occupation data from the 2000 Census. The Administration on Aging offers additional datasets relevant to aging populations, while the EEOC provides access to the Census 2000 Special EEO File and the more recent EEO Tabulation 2014–2018.

The Census Bureau also produces useful visualizations, like Mapping Census 2000: The Geography of U.S. Diversity, showing population shifts and ethnic distributions. Current data on specific groups — such as African Americans, American Indians, Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, the Foreign Born, Hispanic populations, and Native Hawaiians — is also available.

Don’t overlook the International Trade Administration for import/export statistics and trade data analysis.

The U.S. Census Bureau conducts several other periodic surveys, including the following:

• American Community Survey (ACS)
• American Housing Survey (AHS)
• Housing Vacancies and Homeownership (HVS)
• Residential Finance Survey (sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development - HUD)
• Survey of Business Owners (SBO)
• Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP: P-70 Current Population Reports)

Current socioeconomic statistics on various groups are covered by the U.S. Census Bureau:

• African American Population
• American Indian and Alaska Native Resources
• Asian American Populations
• Foreign Born
• Hispanic Origin
• Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander

📊 Additional Market & Demographic Data Sources

For more data sources, check out:

• IBISWorld

• Mergent

• Investext

• MarketLine

• BCC Research (NJIT access; ask a librarian to download reports)

• Gartner (IST Division funded)

Explore free public datasets like CensusScope, which includes interactive charts, graphs, and maps from Census 2000 and 2010 — a good entry point for demographic trends.

📊  Other academic and nonprofit sources offering public datasets and research summaries include:

• American Customer Satisfaction Index

• General Social Survey (NORC)

• Health and Retirement Study

• Human Development Index – SSRC

• Comparative Urban & Regional Research – University at Albany

• Multicultural Economy – UGA

• National Center for Children in Poverty – Columbia

• Panel Study of Income Dynamics

• Brookings Institution – State of Metropolitan America

• State of the Nation's Housing – Harvard

• Surveys of Consumers – University of Michigan

• U.S. Metro Economies – U.S. Conference of Mayors

For additional statistical datasets, you can explore the Social Science Data Archives (University of Amsterdam) and Digital Resources – University of Virginia Scholars’ Lab.

AI Disclosure Statement: ChatGPT-4 (OpenAI, 2025) was used to assist with organizing the structure and layout of this portion of the research guide. All factual content, citations, and sources were independently verified by the author for accuracy and alignment with institutional guidelines.

These tools help you research companies, industries, nonprofits, and market trends. Ideal for business plans, industry profiles, and competitor analysis.

• IBISWorld – Industry analysis and trends
• S&P NetAdvantage (Capital IQ) – Company and industry research
• GuideStar Premium – U.S. nonprofit profiles and IRS 990s
• Leadership Connect – Executive directories (subscription)
• Gale Directory Library – Business directories and market share data
• ThomasNet – Trade Associations
• Trade Association Resources – Buzgate
• KnowThis.com – Marketing Associations
• CareersInFood – Food Associations
• SCM Talent – Supply Chain Associations
• Planning Shop – Major Trade Associations
• Consumer Brands Association
• SPI – Plastics Industry Association
• USA.gov – Trade & Professional Orgs
• ASAE – Gateway to Associations

Authoritative, free data sources for business statistics, legal filings, taxes, and economic research.

• SEC EDGAR Database – Public company filings
• Small Business Administration (SBA) – Business planning, grants, and certifications
• U.S. Chamber of Commerce – Business advocacy and policy
• Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) – Economic indicators and GDP data
• Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) – Employment, wages, and productivity stats
• IRS Tax Statistics – Corporate tax data
• CRS Reports (Congress.gov) – Research for policy and regulation
• CRS Reports (UNT Digital Library)

Each of these resources contain high-quality conference proceedings related to the field of [subject]. Find additional databases on our A-Z Electronic Resources page.