Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
[NJIT logo]

Desktop Software and Mobile Apps: Weather

iOS Tip

undefined

Scanning with Notes (iOS)
The Notes app that comes with the iPhone and iPad has scanning abilities. Follow the steps below to use the scanner:

  1. In Notes, open a note or create a new note.
  2. Tap the camera icon and then tap Scan Documents.
  3. Place your article in view of the camera on your device.
  4. If your iPhone or iPad is in Auto mode, your article will automatically be scanned. If you need to manually capture a scan, tap one of the Volume buttons.
  5. Drag the corners to adjust the scan to fit the page, if needed. Tap Keep Scan.
  6. You can add additional scans to the document or tap Save when you're done.

Source: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT210336

Note: if your iOS devices does not have Notes, you can download it for free at https://apps.apple.com/us/app/notes/id1110145109

 

 

Weather

Accuweather
Get the latest forecast and severe weather alerts with Accuweather. The app has a 25 day outlook to help plan your days ahead. Trending video from the Accuweather team is also presented. The app allows you to filter according to your preferences and easily hide any features that you do not want. Android | iOS
Dark Sky Weather
Dark Sky creates forecasts for your location, giving minute-by-minute predictions for the next hour and hour-by-hour forecasts for the next day and week. Radar animation allows you to see the actual path of the storm: how it moved in the past, and where it's going in the future. The app allows for push notifications and has a Time Machine feature to explore weather in the past. Android | iOS
QuakeFeed Earthquake Alerts
QuakeFeed is an app that can notify you of earthquakes around the globe. It provides you with push notifications for all M6.0+ quakes around the globe and for earthquakes near your location. The app also provides a link to NOAA Tsunami Warning Center if there is a threat for a tsunami. iOS
WeatherBug
Easy to use and provides forecasts from storm warnings to pollen levels. The app has over 18 different weather maps including Doppler radar, lightning, wind, temperature, alerts, pressure, and humidity. A nice feature are live traffic cams for nearby highways. Android | iOS
Weather Channel
Provides accurate weather reports that can help you plan 15 days ahead. Stay safe with severe storm alerts, a blizzard tracker, and safety tips from the National Weather Service. Get detailed information on sunset times, cold and flu reports, and much more. Android | iOS

Note: Descriptions are based on iOS features. The features in the Android version may be different.

News and Reviews

All About Android
This show is available on the TWiT.tv Netcast Network. It covers the latest Android news, hardware, and apps.

AppAdvice
This site is a good resource for discovering new iOS apps. AppAdvice provides news on apps and provides detailed reviews of apps.

iOS Today
This show is available on the TWiT.tv Netcast Network. It highlights best new apps, helpful tools, tricks, and news about iOS.

iOSnoops
A good site for finding out what apps have gone free, what are on sale, and what is new. I check it out daily.

Tech Advisor - App Reviews
Find app reviews by category.

TWiT.tv
This netcast provides over 30 hours of programming each week covering digital technology. Popular shows include: All About Android, This Week in Technology, iOS Today, MacBreak Weekly, The Tech Guy, and Windows Weekly.

Technical Reference Librarian

Joseph J. Mercuri
Technical Reference Librarian
Van Houten Library, CAB 1040
973-596-8498
jmercuri@njit.edu

New Jersey Institute of Technology
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us | Ask A Librarian |  Map & Directions | A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2020 | Robert W. Van Houten Library