Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
[NJIT logo]

Desktop Software and Mobile Apps: Education

iOS Tip

undefined

Scanning with Notes (iOS)
The Notes app that comes with the iPhone and iPad has scanning abilities. Follow the steps below to use the scanner:

  1. In Notes, open a note or create a new note.
  2. Tap the camera icon and then tap Scan Documents.
  3. Place your article in view of the camera on your device.
  4. If your iPhone or iPad is in Auto mode, your article will automatically be scanned. If you need to manually capture a scan, tap one of the Volume buttons.
  5. Drag the corners to adjust the scan to fit the page, if needed. Tap Keep Scan.
  6. You can add additional scans to the document or tap Save when you're done.

Source: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT210336

Note: if your iOS devices does not have Notes, you can download it for free at https://apps.apple.com/us/app/notes/id1110145109

 

 

Education

Merriam-Webster Dictionary
Free ad-supported dictionary that contains thousands of example sentences. A handy feature is voice search which eliminates looking up a word without having to spell it. Learn a new word every day with Word of the Day. A thesaurus is built into the app for synonyms and antonyms. Android | iOS
Wikipedia
This free online encyclopedia contains more than 40 million articles across almost 300 languages. The app features a night reading mode, recommended articles based on what you've already read, random articles, nearby landmarks, and more. Share articles, images, and facts from Wikipedia to social media or by email. Android | iOS
WolframAlpha
A definitive source for instant expert knowledge and computation. WolframAlpha uses a vast collection of algorithms and data to compute answers and generate reports. Domains covered include mathematics, statistics and data analysis, physics, chemistry, materials, engineering, life sciences, computer science, weather, and more. Android | iOS $2.99.

Note: Descriptions are based on iOS features. The features in the Android version may be different.

News and Reviews

All About Android
This show is available on the TWiT.tv Netcast Network. It covers the latest Android news, hardware, and apps.

AppAdvice
This site is a good resource for discovering new iOS apps. AppAdvice provides news on apps and provides detailed reviews of apps.

iOS Today
This show is available on the TWiT.tv Netcast Network. It highlights best new apps, helpful tools, tricks, and news about iOS.

iOSnoops
A good site for finding out what apps have gone free, what are on sale, and what is new. I check it out daily.

Tech Advisor - App Reviews
Find app reviews by category.

TWiT.tv
This netcast provides over 30 hours of programming each week covering digital technology. Popular shows include: All About Android, This Week in Technology, iOS Today, MacBreak Weekly, The Tech Guy, and Windows Weekly.

Technical Reference Librarian

Joseph J. Mercuri
Technical Reference Librarian
Van Houten Library, CAB 1040
973-596-8498
jmercuri@njit.edu

New Jersey Institute of Technology
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us | Ask A Librarian |  Map & Directions | A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2020 | Robert W. Van Houten Library