Research Guides: Research in Architecture and Design: Databases

Avery Index Tutorial

Avery Index (from Avery Library)

WHAT IS THE BEST/SIMPLEST WAY TO BEGIN SEARCHING IN THE INDEX?

It is best to begin your research with keyword searches, especially for older records, which are often very brief, with no summary or subject headings.

HOW DO I SEARCH FOR INDIVIDUAL ARCHITECTS?

The best way to search for individuals is by keyword or subject (e.g. Gehry).

HOW DO I SEARCH FOR ARCHITECTURAL FIRMS?

The best way to search for firms is by keyword or subject (e.g. Renzo Piano Building Workshop).

HOW DO I SEARCH FOR A PARTICULAR BUILDING?

The best way to search for buildings is by keyword (e.g. Orsay and Paris).

I'M LOOKING FOR PLANS OF A CERTAIN BUILDING. HOW DO I DO THAT?

Search the building as a keyword and then see if your particular search-engine allows you to limit for illustrations. If it does not, you will have to look at each record retrieved by your search to see if there is a "plan" listed in the illustrations.

I ONLY WANT ARTICLES IN ENGLISH. HOW DO I DO THAT?

Do whatever search you want and then see if your particular search-engine allows you to limit by language.

Search your library catalog by journal title to see if they subscribe to the journal. If your library does not own the journal, ask for an interlibrary loan of the article.

Searching JSTOR

Searching JSTOR
Tips for searching (using basic and advance searches) JSTOR database and for understanding search results

Ebsco host basic search: explains main steps in finding articles using EBSCO databases

Selected Databases

More databases can be found via the comprehensive A-Z list

Off-campus access to library subscribed databases requires UCID and password login

Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
An index database provides access to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes peer-reviewed publications and citations of book reviews. Coverage:1929-1984
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor provides faculty and students with a complete image resource covering a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of one's discipline. Contains hundreds collections composed of over two million images (and growing).
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access is available for 3 simultaneous users. The Grove Dictionary of Art Online contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Entries include bibliographic information with related resources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR includes hundreds of core titles across disciplines including humanities, social sciences, business, science and mathematics, botany, ecology, health sciences, and more.

Littman Library Image Database
The Archlib Image Database is a searchable and browsable database of images from various collections within the Littman Architecture Library. The image database is searchable by creator, project, and location.

Research in Architecture and Design: Databases

Knowing how to search databases and indexes is a critical skill in conducting research in the 21st century. Databases are collections of information. Indexes provide a means to find specific information located in a variety of sources. NJIT subscribes to