Handbooks & Reference Material - ME 215 - Engineering Materials & Processes - Research Guides at New Jersey Institute of Technology

Why use handbooks?

Handbooks are trusted and reliable sources of many kinds of information that practicing engineers need to have "on hand." Many have been around for generations and are now available online.

Handbooks provide information such as:

Material properties (elasticity, density, types of strength…) under various conditions
Introductory materials
Data/Tables/Figures
References
Definitions
Formulae

Good sources for handbooks

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): American Society for Metals Information
Provides convenient access to the world's largest collection of information and data on the composition, structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of engineering materials.
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill This link opens in a new window
An engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
Knovel Handbooks - Chemistry & Chemical Engineering This link opens in a new window
Full text access is provided to the chemistry and chemical engineering subset of the Knovel Handbooks which provides a searchable database of compendia, data sets and reference sources in engineering, science, and technology. It has a data search feature that allows the researcher to find materials that meet specific parameters including physical, mechanical and thermal properties. Productivity tools include interactive charts, graphs, spreadsheets, and equation plotters. Helpers include an interactive periodical table, an Excel add-in, and a comprehensive unit converter.