Hack Van Houten

Challenge Statement

To enhance the user experience within the NJIT Library through technology.

What is user experience in the library?

The library functions as a third space in many ways, meaning it is separate from home and work (or school) and is a place where people can gather for free in a safe, welcoming space. Its users have a variety of different needs including physical spaces, technology, and information. A group of students might come in to work on an assignment. A professor could look for resources to use in their research. Another student might wander the stacks for their next read. Or a staff member could come in to print flyers for their next event. The ease or difficulty in accomplishing these tasks, the frustration or triumph the patrons feel at the end of the process are all a part of the user experience.

Where can technology help?

• Library Spaces
  • WiFi access, power outlets, and sound-proofing are all examples of technology that enhances a library space. Can you make our spaces even better?
• Searching
  • The card catalog was replaced many years ago with electronic catalogs and databases. NJIT subscribes to 100+ databases and the catalog contains well over 1 million items. What is the best way to find the one resource you need?
• Reference
  • The library receives a variety of questions from our users each year via different modalities including in person, online chat, and email. Can technology help answer these questions?
• Accessibility
  • There are many access points to library collections, including the library stacks, text-based information in databases online, audio-visual collections, and special collections and archives. For people using wheelchairs or with vision or hearing impairments, some of these access points may be challenging. Barring major renovations to the building, are there ways technology can aid everyone in accessing information?
• Wayfinding
  • The NJIT Library includes two libraries: the Van Houten Library in the Central Avenue Building and the Littman Library in Weston Hall with physical collections and materials split between both spaces. The Van Houten Library also has four floors, each serving a slightly different purpose. How do you find study rooms, books, printers, or the bathroom? Libraries have traditionally relied on printed signs to point you in the right direction. Is there a way to update or personalize wayfinding through digital signage, apps, or AR/VR?
• Have we missed something? By all means, propose a project about that thing!

What kind of technologies?

• Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence
  • The power and practicality of artificial intelligence and machine learning is growing by the day. How can we incorporate it into the library?
• The Internet of Things (IoT)
  • IoT can be used to generate huge amounts of data and to create connections were they didn't previously exist. Can the IoT enhance the library?
• Augmented Reality (AR) and Virtual Reality (VR)
  • In the past few years, AR and VR went from science fiction to part of everyday life. Can you think of a way they can improve the library?
• Apps
  • Since the introduction of the iPhone over ten years ago, apps have become a part of everyday life. What would a great library app look like?
• You're the STEM expert! Feature technology we haven't even thought of!