Research Guides: Business & Finance: Background Information

Using General Sources for Background Research

General sources compile, summarize, index, or help identify scholarly sources on a topic. They are useful for background research or to get an overview of a finance topic before exploring secondary or primary sources. Common general sources for business information include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials. A few recommended resources are listed below.

From this page, you can access key tools and resources for background research in finance.

Resources for Background Research in Finance

HeinOnline Academic
HeinOnline Academic is a comprehensive research platform that provides access to a vast digital library of authoritative sources, including historical documents, modern publications, and over 3,300 multidisciplinary journals covering 40 academic subjects, such as history, law, political science, human rights, international relations, and business. The creation of government and legal systems worldwide.
New York Times Online
Important: You must register using your NJIT UCID username/email to obtain access to NYTimes Online. NJIT students, faculty, and staff have 24/7 unlimited access including mobile access to the latest news with the ability to save and set up alerts on articles from 1851 to the present. Limited access to archive content: 5 articles per day for content from 1851 to 2002. This includes access to the InEducation academic resources or learning tools.
Regional Business News (EBSCO)
Regional Business News is a supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources. Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces.
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) Business Reference Handbook Series
RKMA publishes 12 biennial market research handbooks covering topics like B2B marketing, consumer behavior, media, healthcare, international markets, retail, sports, and tourism.
Small Business Source eBook Subscription (EBSCO)
This eBook collection focuses on small business topics and is often paired with the broader Small Business Source database, which includes articles, videos, and more.
Wall Street Journal Online (Dow Jones)
The Wall Street Journal provides articles from the past four years, covering business, economy, technology, finance, arts, lifestyle, real estate, health, and sports. Enjoy access to videos, podcasts, and newsletters with customizable alerts. Coverage: Current four (4) years.