Business & Finance

📄 Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)

The Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is the federal agency responsible for enforcing U.S. securities laws. Its mission is to protect investors, maintain fair and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation. The SEC works to promote a market environment that earns and keeps the public’s trust.

🔍 SEC Filings and Company Disclosures

All public companies must comply with SEC regulations and file standardized reports. These are freely available online and can provide critical insights into a company's financial health, operations, and governance.

You can access these filings using:

• EDGAR: Company Filings Search - Free access to more than 21 million filings. EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval) automates the collection, validation, indexing, and forwarding of forms filed with the SEC.

• Company websites often link to these documents under "Investors," "Investor Relations," or "Financials" sections.

📘 Key SEC Filings to Know

• 10-K – Annual report required by the SEC. This includes detailed financials, management's discussion and analysis (MD&A), and important footnotes.

• ARS – Annual Report to Shareholders (may differ from the 10-K).

• SC-13 – Reports on changes in beneficial ownership of company stock.

• S-8 – Disclosures about employee stock benefit plans.

• DEF 14 – Proxy statements including executive compensation and shareholder voting matters.

📄 View the Complete SEC Forms List for a full breakdown of filing types.

📰 Recent News Headlines (SEC & Market Related)

• Delta Pilot Is Arrested in Cockpit After Flight Lands in San Francisco (Jul 28, 2025)

• Where Is the Economy Going? A ‘Monster Week’ of News Could Help Decide (Jul 28, 2025)

• Making Sense of the E.U. Trade Deal (Jul 28, 2025)

• A Maine Resort Town Feels the Pressure of Trump’s Immigration Crackdown (Jul 28, 2025)

• Economists Are Struggling to Find Jobs. It’s an Ominous Sign for The Economy (Jul 28, 2025)

• UnitedHealth Grew to Be a Leviathan. Then Came the Backlash (Jul 28, 2025)

• Europe, Worried by Other Global Crises, Agrees to Trump’s Trade Deal (Jul 28, 2025)

• U.S. and China Meet as Trade Truce Nears Expiration (Jul 27, 2025)

• The Country Where 76% of Cars Sold Are Electric (Jul 27, 2025)

• Passengers Evacuate Smoky American Airlines Plane at Denver Airport (Jul 27, 2025)

📡 SEC Website | RSS Feeds for the latest updates

AI Disclosure Statement: ChatGPT-4 (OpenAI, 2025) was used to assist with organizing the structure and layout of this portion of the research guide. All factual content, citations, and sources were independently verified by the author for accuracy and alignment with institutional guidelines.

🔹 American Depositary Receipts (ADRs)

• ADR.com - Created by JPMorgan, this platform offers news, quotes, earnings estimates, technical charts, and ownership data on ADRs and international equities. You can search by region, industry, ticker, or company. The Market Overview feature shows top-performing depositary receipts by sector, ownership, and country.

• Bank of New York Mellon Depository Receipts Directory - Provides detailed ADR background info. View depositary receipts by industry, country, or region. You can also explore DRs based on institutional ownership or dividend activity.

🔹 Stock Market Tools

• StockCharts.com - Offers a range of customizable stock charts, including daily, weekly, and historical views in various styles and color schemes.

• Stock and Commodity Exchanges Guide (Library of Congress) - Comprehensive directory of global exchanges including stock, futures, options, and derivative markets. Also lists sources for pricing data and market performance.

💵 Bonds & Fixed-Income Securities

• Bonds Online - Covers U.S. corporate, municipal, Treasury, and federal agency bonds. Includes strategy tools for portfolio management, hedging, and analysis.

• FINRA – Market Data - From the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority. Offers bond market news, benchmarks, performance data, and credit ratings across corporate, municipal, and Treasury securities.

• Monthly Statement of the Public Debt - Monthly data on U.S. Treasury securities including bills, notes, and bonds. Tables list issue dates, maturity, and amounts.

• SIFMA Statistics (Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association) - Access current and historical data on issuance, rates, average maturity, and more. Includes Moody’s Corporate Bond Yield Averages from 1996 onward.

• EMMA – Electronic Municipal Market Access - Official source for U.S. municipal bond data. Find official statements, refunding documents, and continuing disclosures from broker-dealers and municipal issuers.

📰 Market News (via WSJ.com)

• Stocks Sink in Broad AI Rout Sparked by China's DeepSeek (Jan 27, 2025)

• Comex Gold, Silver Settle Lower (Jan 27, 2025)

• DeepSeek Won't Sink U.S. AI Titans (Jan 27, 2025)

• Financial Services Roundup: Market Talk (Jan 27, 2025)

• Arabica Coffee Prices Hit Record on U.S., Colombia Tariff Spat (Jan 27, 2025)

• Swiss Franc, Japanese Yen Rise as DeepSeek News Boosts Safe Havens (Jan 27, 2025)

• Natural Gas Falls on Shifting Weather Forecasts (Jan 27, 2025)

• Building-Products Distributor QXO Launches Hostile Bid for Beacon (Jan 27, 2025)

• Diversified Energy Strikes Deal for Permian Basin Player (Jan 27, 2025)

• What's New This Tax Season That Can Save You Money (Jan 27, 2025)

🔗 Visit WSJ Market News | Subscribe to WSJ Feeds

AI Disclosure Statement: ChatGPT-4 (OpenAI, 2025) was used to assist with organizing the structure and layout of this portion of the research guide. All factual content, citations, and sources were independently verified by the author for accuracy and alignment with institutional guidelines.

📊 Auction Data & Federal Reports

• Federal Reserve Bulletin - Offers information on monetary policy, banking regulation, economic research, and community development. Includes Table 1.35 for the latest auction data on government securities and debt instruments.

• Historical Auction Query – U.S. Treasury - Search past auctions for Treasury bills, bonds, and notes. Offers detailed auction results including rates, issue dates, and maturity terms.

📈 Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)

All FRED resources are provided by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis:

• FRED (Main Site) Access and visualize more than 236,000 U.S. and international time series from 68 data sources.

• Interest Rates – Historical Time Series Download and graph long-term historical interest rate data.

• Market Rate Data Includes research and data series on market rates from FRED and St. Louis Fed economic publications.

💡 Selected Interest Rates (Federal Reserve Board)

• Daily Selected Interest Rates - Up-to-date information on Treasury and federal funds rates, commercial paper, certificates of deposit, and more.

• Historical Selected Interest Rates - Find historical data on adjustment and primary credit rates, including downloadable datasets.

🏛️ About the U.S. Treasury Department

• U.S. Department of the Treasury - Oversees national economic and financial security, manages federal finances, collects revenue, and enforces economic sanctions. Offers data on Treasury auctions, debt management, and public borrowing operations.

AI Disclosure Statement: ChatGPT-4 (OpenAI, 2025) was used to assist with organizing the structure and layout of this portion of the research guide. All factual content, citations, and sources were independently verified by the author for accuracy and alignment with institutional guidelines.

🔎 Overview

ScienceDirect – Commodity Derivatives Overview - Commodity derivatives are financial instruments that allow investors to gain exposure to commodity price movements without owning the physical commodity. These instruments include futures, options, and swaps linked to products like oil, gold, wheat, or coffee.

🌐 Key Websites for Commodity Data

• Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) - The CFTC is an independent U.S. government agency that regulates commodity futures and options markets. The site includes market analysis, surveillance updates, enforcement actions, and links to all major domestic commodity exchanges.

• FAOSTAT – Agriculture Data - Developed by the UN Food & Agriculture Organization, FAOSTAT offers global data on agricultural production, trade, and usage for crops, livestock, and related commodities, broken down by country and year.

• Stock and Commodity Exchanges Guide - A comprehensive guide to global stock and commodity exchanges, including those trading in futures, options, and derivatives. Also includes sources for pricing data and market reports.

• USDA Foreign Agricultural Service – PSD Database - Production, supply, and distribution data on agricultural commodities for the U.S. and major global producers. Offers historical and current USDA figures.

• USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) - Access national and state-level data on agricultural yields, prices, and production volumes. Includes annual and quarterly reports.

• U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) – Commodity Statistics - Data on the production, trade, and use of mineral commodities across the globe, including rare earths, industrial minerals, and metals.

• World Bank – Commodity Markets - Includes historical price data and quarterly forecasts for key global commodities, such as energy, metals, and agriculture.

AI Disclosure Statement: ChatGPT-4 (OpenAI, 2025) was used to assist with organizing the structure and layout of this portion of the research guide. All factual content, citations, and sources were independently verified by the author for accuracy and alignment with institutional guidelines.

📚 Standards and Guidelines

Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) - The FASB is an independent, private-sector, not-for-profit organization responsible for establishing financial accounting and reporting standards for public and private companies, as well as non-profits, that follow GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles).

FASB Accounting Standards Codification® - The Codification is the single source of authoritative nongovernmental U.S. GAAP. Free online access is available in “Basic View” with registration. This resource is essential for accounting professionals, students, and researchers needing up-to-date standards.

🌐 Best Websites on Accounting & Taxation

Tax and Accounting Sites Directory - A curated list of links related to taxation, accounting firms, government agencies, IRS resources, and more.

AccountingWEB - An online news and advice resource for accounting professionals. Includes news articles, industry analysis, job postings, and forums.

Accounting.com - Provides career resources for aspiring accountants, including education guides, licensing info, and job market insights. Useful for students researching degree programs or planning for certification.

AI Disclosure Statement: ChatGPT-4 (OpenAI, 2025) was used to assist with organizing the structure and layout of this portion of the research guide. All factual content, citations, and sources were independently verified by the author for accuracy and alignment with institutional guidelines.

📚 Standards and Guidelines

Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP) - CSCMP provides research, publications, benchmarking data, and certification resources for supply chain professionals. Their Supply Chain Management Body of Knowledge (SCMBoK) outlines key principles and standards in logistics, procurement, and operations.

APICS – Association for Supply Chain Management (ASCM) - ASCM is the global leader in supply chain organizational transformation and certification. It offers the CPIM (Certified in Planning and Inventory Management), CSCP, and CLTD credentials. Explore their insights, webinars, and trend reports.

🌐 Best Websites for SCM Trends & Tools

SupplyChainBrain - News and analysis on current challenges and innovations in the global supply chain. Includes case studies, white papers, and supplier directories.

Inbound Logistics - Covers logistics, transportation, warehouse management, and sourcing strategies. Offers downloadable guides and the annual 3PL directory.

Logistics Management - Offers daily news updates and in-depth reporting on logistics, transportation, and material handling trends.

SC Digest (Supply Chain Digest) - Provides editorials, reports, and video commentary focused on inventory control, demand planning, transportation management, and related technologies.

📖 Professional Tools and Data

Thomasnet - An industrial sourcing platform for identifying North American suppliers, manufacturers, and distributors. Includes company directories, CAD files, and RFQ tools.

U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) - Provides comprehensive transportation and logistics data relevant for supply chain planning, including freight flows, infrastructure stats, and economic indicators.

AI Disclosure Statement: ChatGPT-4 (OpenAI, 2025) was used to assist with organizing the structure and layout of this portion of the research guide. All factual content, citations, and sources were independently verified by the author for accuracy and alignment with institutional guidelines.

How to Read Case Studies

Student Guide to Case Studies (videos from Harvard Business Review)

Citing Case Studies

How to cite Harvard Business Review Case Studies.