Research Guides: EBSCOhost Research Platform: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the EBSCOhost Research Platform research guide at NJIT. This guide will introduce you to the numerous databases in the platform and help you navigate them as you conduct your research.

Using the navigation bar, you can find links to the various databases as well as information specific to the platform including how to search, manage your results, and access the resources you find.

What is EBSCOhost?

EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system with comprehensive databases that range from general reference to specially designed, subject-specific databases. See the EBSCOhost Databases page to view a list organized by discipline.

The platform includes:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Offers collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals as well as magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos. Virtually covers every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Art Abstracts (EBSCO)
An abstract database covers fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture and includes a database-specific thesaurus. Coverage: 1984 - present.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929–1984 (EBSCO)
An index database provides access to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes peer-reviewed publications and citations of book reviews. Coverage:1929-1984
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCO)
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Provides selective full-text, indexing, and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education of Sciences, Department of Education.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 (EBSCO)
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 is an archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750. It includes thousands of valuable primary source records covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
Provides thousands of encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
GreenFILE is a research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Legal Information Source (EBSCO)
An online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes full-text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)
A research database for library and information science studies. LISTA provides indexing and abstracting for key journals, books, and research reports.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
A comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. It contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works and is an essential resource for public, academic and high school libraries.
MasterFILE Elite (EBSCO)
Provides full-text magazines, periodicals, and reference books covering a wide range of subject areas. It also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps, and flags.
MathSciNet (AMS)
A database from the American Mathematical Society, accessible via the AMS platform. It provides access to reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic data for journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in mathematics and related fields. It includes author profiles and citation data for research discovery.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)
Military & Government Collection is a database of full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO)
A full-text database of essential publications for research across many disciplines, including art, education, humanities, and technology. It also provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.
OpenDissertations (EBSCO)
An open-access citation database to locate both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Coverage: early 20th century to the present.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO)
Covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument).
Referencia Latina (EBSCO)
This full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.
Regional Business News (EBSCO)
Regional Business News is a supplemental database for customers of Business Source Premier. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources. Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces.
Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO)
The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies.

Why EBSCOhost?

Offers both general, multidisciplinary databases for broader searching and specialized, subject-specific databases for better targeted searching.
Toggle between databases once you are in the platform, and/or search multiple relevant databases at once.