Research Guides: Competitive Intelligence : Getting Started

SCIP: Strategic and Competitive Intelligence Professionals

SCIP is an organization for people involved in creating and managing business knowledge.

Recommended Databases

Business Source Premier from EBSCOhost
A database that provides coverage of articles on business, marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Many articles are available with full-text. Company Profiles are also included as well.
Factiva (Dow Jones)
A premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more. Factiva contains articles from The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today, Barron's, and other major publications.
New York Times Online
Important: You must register using your NJIT UCID username/email to obtain access to NYTimes Online. NJIT students, faculty, and staff have 24/7 unlimited access including mobile access to the latest news with the ability to save and set up alerts on articles from 1851 to the present. Limited access to archive content: 5 articles per day for content from 1851 to 2002. This includes access to the InEducation academic resources or learning tools.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic)
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) Business Reference Handbook Series
RKMA publishes 12 biennial market research handbooks covering topics like B2B marketing, consumer behavior, media, healthcare, international markets, retail, sports, and tourism.
BCC Research
A database of selected technology market research reports, reviews, and technology newsletters. Reports cover categories including advanced materials, chemicals, engineering, environment, healthcare, information technology, manufacturing, and nanotechnology. Authorized NJIT members can search the database but must contact an NJIT Librarian to download a report.

What is competitive intelligence?

Competitive intelligence (CI) is the legitimate strategic and tactical research and analysis designed to identify threats and opportunities. (Leonard Fuld)

CI involves the use of public sources to develop data on competition, competitors, and the market environment. It then transforms, by analysis, that data into [intelligence]. Public, in CI, means all information you can legally and ethically identify, locate, and then access (Proactive Intelligence--McGonagle and Vella, 2012).

WHERE TO BEGIN

SOURCE Table 8: Krizan, L. (1999). Intelligence essential for everyone. Joint Military Intelligence College. Occasional paper no. 6. Washington, DC.

Subject Guide

NJIT Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

Live Chat Hours:
*Monday-Thursday, 10am to 5pm

Phone: 973-596-3210
Text: 973-510-2060