Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]

Research in Architecture and Design: Databases

Knowing how to search databases and indexes is a critical skill in conducting research in the 21st century. Databases are collections of information. Indexes provide a means to find specific information located in a variety of sources. NJIT subscribes to

Artstor

Avery Index (from Avery Library)

WHAT IS THE BEST/SIMPLEST WAY TO BEGIN SEARCHING IN THE INDEX?

It is best to begin your research with keyword searches, especially for older records, which are often very brief, with no summary or subject headings.

HOW DO I SEARCH FOR INDIVIDUAL ARCHITECTS?

The best way to search for individuals is by keyword or subject (e.g. Gehry).

HOW DO I SEARCH FOR ARCHITECTURAL FIRMS?

The best way to search for firms is by keyword or subject (e.g. Renzo Piano Building Workshop).

HOW DO I SEARCH FOR A PARTICULAR BUILDING?

The best way to search for buildings is by keyword (e.g. Orsay and Paris).

I'M LOOKING FOR PLANS OF A CERTAIN BUILDING. HOW DO I DO THAT?

Search the building as a keyword and then see if your particular search-engine allows you to limit for illustrations. If it does not, you will have to look at each record retrieved by your search to see if there is a "plan" listed in the illustrations.

I ONLY WANT ARTICLES IN ENGLISH. HOW DO I DO THAT?

Do whatever search you want and then see if your particular search-engine allows you to limit by language.

Search your library catalog by journal title to see if they subscribe to the journal. If your library does not own the journal, ask for an interlibrary loan of the article.

Searching JSTOR

Ebsco host basic search: explains main steps in finding articles using EBSCO databases

Grove Art Online

Selected Databases (More databases can be found via A to Z list at http://library.njit.edu/databases/databases-alpha.php

Off-campus access to library subscribed databases requires UCID and password login

EBSCOhost advanced search: tutorial on how to use EBSCO databases

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2019 | Robert W. Van Houten Library