Research Guides: ECE 652 HVDC Design, Operation and Maintenance : Scholarly sources

Scholarly articles and conference proceedings -- why use them?

Scholarly articles and conference proceedings are published by academic experts who have done some kind of well-defined research study. They are published in journals. This category also includes “review articles” which are a synthesis of research done on a well-defined topic (as opposed to a formal publication of a single research study).

To get started, watch Jill’s video – Getting started with Scholarly Articles for Offshore Wind (5:55)

Find scholarly articles and conference papers with the resources below.

Resources for Scholarly articles and conference papers

Multi-disciplinary scholarly:

Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive abstract and citation database from Elsevier. It covers peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It offers tools for tracking research trends, author impact, and institutional performance.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Citation database of leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

The Web of Science platform included these core collection databases:
* Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present;
* Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present;
* Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present;
* Conference Proceedings Index 1990-present;
* Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science 1990-present;
* Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities 1990-present;
* Book Citation Index - Science 2005-present;
* Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities 2005-present;
* Emerging Sources Citation Index 2019-present

Environmental:

GreenFILE (EBSCO)
GreenFILE is a research database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

Engineering and Energy:

ASCE Library
Online full-text database providing the contents of peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, e-books, and standards published in civil engineering.
IEEE Xplore
Offers unlimited access to IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, active standards, and backfiles dating to 1884. Covers topics including aerospace, AI, software engineering, telecommunications, biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics.

OSTI.gov
Government funded research paper discovery tool

Legal:

HeinOnline Academic
HeinOnline Academic is a comprehensive research platform that provides access to a vast digital library of authoritative sources, including historical documents, modern publications, and over 3,300 multidisciplinary journals covering 40 academic subjects, such as history, law, political science, human rights, international relations, and business. The creation of government and legal systems worldwide.

Evaluating Journals

How do you know if a journal is a good journal?

Follow the advice on the NJIT Library Research Guide Evaluating Research Articles
Another method is to consult these sources to see how journals are ranked (by various methods):
Scimago ranks journals on Renewable Energy, Sustainability and the Environment
JCR (NJIT Library) ranks journals in many different fields
When in doubt, ask a librarian