Research Guides: Open Access : Finding OA Resources

Finding Open Access Content

Tool/Resource	Description
Web of Science, Scopus	You can limit your search results in a database to just open access content. Databases like Web of Science and Scopus support this feature.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)	A searchable directory of open access journals across all disciplines.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)	A community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books. Helps users find trusted open access book publishers.
Open Accesss Button	A browser extension that helps find open access versions of articles by searching via title, DOI, URL, etc.
Unpaywall	A browser extension that searches for open access versions of articles that have a DOI.

Finding Open Access Resources

Category	Description	Examples
Discovery Tools & Indexes	These are search engines and catalogs that help you find open access resources. Indexes typically include metadata like title, author, publication date, and abstract, though some may also include full-text versions.	Google Scholar, Directory of Open Access Repositories Open Access Button
Institutional Repositories	Digital collections of scholarly works maintained by academic institutions, often including journal articles, conference papers, theses, and dissertations. These repositories provide access to research produced by the faculty and students of the institution.	Harvard DASH, University of California eScholarship, Cornell University eCommons
Open Access Databases	Repositories that store scholarly articles, research data, books, and more, available for free access. These databases are often subject-specific and provide a platform for storing scientific data, historical archives, or open access book collections.	PubMed Central (PMC), arXiv
Publishers	Many publishers offer open access options for some of their journals, articles, and books. These publishers provide free or open access to materials, often through non-profit initiatives.	PLOS, Open Book Publishers

Evaluating Open Access Resources

Open Access resources can vary in quality, just like any other type of resource. When incorporating them into your research, it's important to carefully assess their credibility. Here are some key factors to consider:

1. Check the Journal's Reputation

Longevity: How long has the journal been in existence? Established journals are more likely to be reliable.
Indexing: Is the journal indexed in major bibliographic databases? Reputable journals often are.
Impact Factor: Does the journal have an impact factor? This metric reflects how often articles from the journal are cited and can indicate the journal’s importance within its field.

2. Check for Peer Review

Open access journals should have a clear and transparent peer-review process. Look for information about the review process on the journal's website. Journals that provide robust peer review are more likely to publish high-quality research. Learn more about the importance of peer review on COPE.

3. Check the Authors’ Credentials

Who is publishing in the journal? Are the authors recognized experts in their field with a strong track record? Authors who have previously published in other respected journals are more likely to contribute high-quality research.

4. Check the Research Methods

Assess whether the research methods are sound and appropriate for the research question. Look for articles that detail the study design, data collection methods, and statistical analysis. Solid research methods strengthen the reliability of the findings.

5. Check the Publishing Practices

Reputable journals follow ethical publishing standards. Look for policies on plagiarism, data fabrication, and conflicts of interest. Ethical standards, such as those from COPE, ensure the integrity of published research.