Research Guides: Biological Sciences: Finding Research

Biological Sciences Databases: Best Bets

Academic Search Premier from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Table of contents access to 200+ peer-reviewed journals in biological, environmental, and ecological science.
BMC, Research in Progress This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central provides access to meeting abstracts and peer-reviewed articles in biology and medical journals published by Springer Nature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR includes hundreds of core titles across disciplines including humanities, social sciences, business, science and mathematics, botany, ecology, health sciences, and more.
PMC (NCBI: National Center for Biotechnology Information) This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central provides free access to medical articles from about 6 publishers. There is usually a delay of a year from the date of publication when an article will be available.

More Strategies for Finding Research

Biology is involved in every aspect of society. Think about the interdisciplinary aspects of your research -- try a database with a disciplinary focus to find relevant research to support your project. For example, if you are working on research that involves "land use change", you could use a "civil engineering" or "environmental engineering" database such as ASCE Library. You can see a list of NJIT's research databases on the NJIT Library A-Z databases page. Sort them by subject to find extra-disciplinary databases that can help you find more research on your multidisciplinary project.

Take a look at the complete collection of NJIT Library Research Guides to get advice on finding research in another discipline.

NJIT Interdisciplinary Resources:

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): American Chemical Society
Access to selected publications of the American Chemical Society.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): American Society of Civil Engineers
Online full-text database providing the contents of peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, e-books, and standards published in civil engineering.
PubMed.gov (Medline) This link opens in a new window
Medline via PubMed provides millions of citations for biomedical literature from life science journals and online books. Citations may include selected links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Research with New Jersey This link opens in a new window
New Jersey's first research asset database to help businesses and entrepreneurs identify and collaborate with research universities and experts in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). The participating institutions are the New Jersey Institute of Technology, Princeton University, Rutgers University, Rowan University, and Montclair State University. Sponsored by New Jersey's Office of the Secretary of Higher Education (OSHE) and Economic Development Authority (EDA).
Springer Link (Journals) This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. Coverage: 1997-present.
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) This link opens in a new window
United States Patents. The full-text of patents are available free of charge. The database can be searched using any number of fields, including keyword, title, patent number, applicant name, and assignee name.

Biological Sciences

Need help? Ask a librarian

Biological Sciences Databases: Best Bets

More Strategies for Finding Research

NJIT Interdisciplinary Resources:

News

Useful Links