|
|
![[NJIT Library Logo]](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/2307/images/Libcal-logo.jpg){kind=logo}
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
This book list is aimed for those who are beginners in the biological sciences.
Each of the textbooks offers a basic overview in a topic that is fundamental to the biological sciences curriculum here at NJIT.
The popular books are for topics you may find useful as an easier entry into topics in biological sciences----these books are meant to be read and understood by the general population.
Handbooks are reference books that provide ready reference information a topic. Here is where you'll find books such as encyclopedias.
If you seek a more niche topic in the biological sciences, such as immunology, neurobiology, virology, etc., please use our online catalog!
Differential Equations and Mathematical Biology by
The conjoining of mathematics and biology has brought about significant advances in both areas, with mathematics providing a tool for modelling and understanding biological phenomena and biology stimulating developments in the theory of nonlinear differential equations. The continued application of mathematics to biology holds great promise and in fact may be the applied mathematics of the 21st century. Differential Equations and Mathematical Biology provides a detailed treatment of both ordinary and partial differential equations, techniques for their solution, and their use in a variety of biological applications. The presentation includes the fundamental techniques of nonlinear differential equations, bifurcation theory, and the impact of chaos on discrete time biological modelling. The authors provide generous coverage of numerical techniques and address a range of important applications, including heart physiology, nerve pulse transmission, chemical reactions, tumour growth, and epidemics. This book is the ideal vehicle for introducing the challenges of biology to mathematicians and likewise delivering key mathematical tools to biologists. Carefully designed for such multiple purposes, it serves equally well as a professional reference and as a text for coursework in differential equations, in biological modelling, or in differential equation models of biology for life science students.
Mathematical Models in Biology by
This book presents an exciting collection of contributions based on the workshop "Bringing Maths to Life" held October 27-29, 2014 in Naples, Italy. The state-of-the art research in biology and the statistical and analytical challenges facing huge masses of data collection are treated in this Work. Specific topics explored in depth surround the sessions and special invited sessions of the workshop and include genetic variability via differential expression, molecular dynamics and modeling, complex biological systems viewed from quantitative models, and microscopy images processing, to name several. In depth discussions of the mathematical analysis required to extract insights from complex bodies of biological datasets, to aid development in the field novel algorithms, methods and software tools for genetic variability, molecular dynamics, and complex biological systems are presented in this book. Researchers and graduate students in biology, life science, and mathematics/statistics will find the content useful as it addresses existing challenges in identifying the gaps between mathematical modeling and biological research. The shared solutions will aid and promote further collaboration between life sciences and mathematics.
Applications of Calculus to Biology and Medicine by
Biology majors and pre-health students at many colleges and universities are required to take a semester of calculus but rarely do such students see authentic applications of its techniques and concepts. Applications of Calculus to Biology and Medicine: Case Studies from Lake Victoria is designed to address this issue: it prepares students to engage with the research literature in the mathematical modeling of biological systems, assuming they have had only one semester of calculus. The text includes projects, problems and exercises: the projects ask the students to engage with the research literature, problems ask the students to extend their understanding of the materials and exercises ask the students to check their understanding as they read the text. Students who successfully work their way through the text will be able to engage in a meaningful way with the research literature to the point that they would be able to make genuine contributions to the literature.
Introduction to Computational Systems Biology by
This book delivers a comprehensive and insightful account of applying mathematical modelling approaches to very large biological systems and networks-a fundamental aspect of computational systems biology. The book covers key modelling paradigms in detail, while at the same time retaining a simplicity that will appeal to those from less quantitative fields. Key Features: A hands-on approach to modelling Covers a broad spectrum of modelling, from static networks to dynamic models and constraint-based models Thoughtful exercises to test and enable understanding of concepts State-of-the-art chapters on exciting new developments, like community modelling and biological circuit design Emphasis on coding and software tools for systems biology Companion website featuring lecture videos, figure slides, codes, supplementary exercises, further reading, and appendices: https: //ramanlab.github.io/SysBioBook/ An Introduction to Computational Systems Biology: Systems-Level Modelling of Cellular Networks is highly multi-disciplinary and will appeal to biologists, engineers, computer scientists, mathematicians and others.
Applied Bioinformatics by
This book introduces readers to the basic principles of bioinformatics and the practical application and utilization of computational tools, without assuming any prior background in programming or informatics. It provides a coherent overview of the complex field and focuses on the implementation of online tools, genome databases and software that can benefit scientists and students in the life sciences. Training tutorials with practical bioinformatics exercises and solutions facilitate the understanding and application of such tools and interpretation of results. In addition, a glossary explains terminology that is widely used in the field. This straightforward introduction to applied bioinformatics offers an essential resource for students, as well as scientists seeking to understand the basis of sequencing analysis, functional genomics and protein structure predictions.
Mastering Python for Bioinformatics by
Life scientists today urgently need training in bioinformatics skills. Too many bioinformatics programs are poorly written and barely maintained, usually by students and researchers who've never learned basic programming skills. This practical guide shows postdoc bioinformatics professionals and students how to exploit the best parts of Python to solve problems in biology while creating documented, tested, reproducible software. Ken Youens-Clark, author of Tiny Python Projects (Manning), demonstrates not only how to write effective Python code but also how to use tests to write and refactor scientific programs. You'll learn the latest Python features and tools including linters, formatters, type checkers, and tests to create documented and tested programs. You'll also tackle 14 challenges in Rosalind, a problem-solving platform for learning bioinformatics and programming. Create command-line Python programs to document and validate parameters Write tests to verify refactor programs and confirm they're correct Address bioinformatics ideas using Python data structures and modules such as Biopython Create reproducible shortcuts and workflows using makefiles Parse essential bioinformatics file formats such as FASTA and FASTQ Find patterns of text using regular expressions Use higher-order functions in Python like filter(), map(), and reduce()
Biodiversity and Evolution by
Biodiversity and Evolution includes chapters devoted to the evolution and biodiversity of organisms at the molecular level, based on the study of natural collections from the Museum of Natural History. The book starts with an epistemological and historical introduction and ends with a critical overview of the Anthropocene epoch.
Principles of Ecology by
Ecology considers how organisms of the same species interact with each other, how organisms of different species in the same space interact, and how multiple communities interact to make up an ecosystem, information crucial in understanding how biodiversity affects ecological function. In over 120 articles, Principles of Ecology addresses topics including: Morphology, Human ecology, Resilience, Social ecology, Co-evolution, Traits, Biome and Biosphere.
Introduction to Botany by
Introduction to Botany's comprehensive coverage captures readers' attention by showing them why plants are a fascinating and essential part of their everyday lives. The clear, concise text focuses on four major themesÑplants and people, conservation biology, evolution, and biotechnologyÑand gives readers practical and relevant information about the world of botany. Thematic boxes throughout each chapter further highlight the relationship between plants and readers' lives. Nabors' clear and engaging writing style keeps students interested in the science without ever becoming encyclopedic.Plants & people, conservation biology, evolution, and biotechnology.For college instructors, students, and anyone interested in plant biology or botany.
Ecological and Environmental Physiology of Mammals by
Mammals are the so-called "pinnacle" group of vertebrates, successfully colonising virtually all terrestrial environments as well as the air (bats) and sea (especially pinnipeds and cetaceans). How mammals function and survive in these diverse environments has long fascinated mammologists, comparative physiologists and ecologists. Ecological and Environmental Physiology of Mammals explores the physiological mechanisms and evolutionary necessities that have made the spectacular adaptation of mammals possible. It summarises our current knowledge of the complex and sophisticated physiological approaches that mammals have for survival in a wide variety of ecological and environmental contexts: terrestrial, aerial, and aquatic. The authors have a strong comparative and quantitative focus in their broad approach to exploring mammal ecophysiology. As with other books in the Ecological and Environmental Physiology Series, the emphasis is on the unique physiological characteristics of mammals, their adaptations to extreme environments, and current experimental techniques and future research directions are also considered. This accessible text is suitable for graduate level students and researchers in the fields of mammalian comparative physiology and physiological ecology, including specialist courses in mammal ecology. It will also be of value and use to the many professional mammologists requiring a concise overview of the topic.
An Introduction to Animal Behavior: an Integrative Approach by
The study of animal behavior is one of the most integrative endeavors in biology - it encompasses how the behavior is acquired, how it works, why it has come to work as it does, and how it influences the behaving animal and the animals around it. In Animal Behavior: An Integrative Approach,Michael J. Ryan and Walter Wilczynski address the interrelationship of these aspects of animal behavior, which Nikolaas Tinbergen codified in his "four questions" as causation, ontogeny, survival value, and evolution. In light of these questions, the authors first review some of the basic conceptsof ultimate and proximate aspects of behavior. They make the argument that integrating different levels of analysis is critical for deriving a correct interpretation of behavior. In subsequent chapters, they review topics such as foraging, orientation and migration, sex differences, mate choice,social bonding, cooperation, conflict, and aggression.The authors integrate information from molecular genomics through neuroscience, endocrinology, development, and learning to evolutionary genetics, selection, constraints, and phylogenetics to provide a concise but comprehensive look at current topics in animal behavior. This book provides awell-thought-out and integrated introduction to the complexity of animal behavior that should appeal to advanced undergraduates, graduate students, and professional scientists in other fields in need of a succinct review of the field.
Fundamentals of Computational Neuroscience by
The branch of neuroscience which makes use of mathematical models, abstractions and theoretical analysis of the brain is called computational neuroscience. It attempts to understand the principles which govern the structure, development, physiology and cognitive abilities of the human nervous system. Some of important areas of research under this discipline are single neuron modeling, sensory processing, motor control, behavior of networks, memory and synaptic plasticity, consciousness, visual attention, identification, etc. The commonly used software applications for simulating the theoretical models in computational neuroscience are BRIAN, Emergent, GENESIS and NEST. This book attempts to understand the multiple branches that fall under the discipline of computational neuroscience and how such concepts have practical applications. It elucidates the concepts and innovative models around prospective developments with respect to computational neuroscience. This book aims to serve as a resource guide for students and experts alike and contribute to the growth of the discipline.
DNA Research, Genetics and Cell Biology by
This book presents and discusses topical research in the study of DNA, genetics and cell biology. Topics discussed include DNA damage related to exposure to oil spills; mutation detection in TP53 gene; DNA and protein sequence analysis; the role of effectors on hypoxia due to nitric oxide production in human alveolar epithelial cells and plasma cell dyscrasias.
Foundations in Microbiology: Basic Principles by
Foundations in Microbiology is an allied health microbiology text with a taxonomic approach to the disease chapters. It offers an engaging and accessible writing style through the use of case studies and analogies to thoroughly explain difficult microbiology concepts. We were so excited to offer a robust learning program with student-focused learning activities, allowing the students to manage their learning while you easily manage their assessment. Revised art and updated photos help concepts stand out. Detailed reports show how your assignments measure various learning objectives from the book (or input your own!), levels of Bloom's Taxonomy or other categories, and how your students are doing. The Talaro Learning Users who purchase Connect receive access to a full online eBook version of the textbook, including SmartBook! New to SmartBook with this edition are learning resources to aid student understanding of content utilizing a variety of learning tools.
Sapiens by
Official U.S. edition with full color illustrations throughout. New York Times Bestseller A Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity's creation and evolution--a #1 international bestseller--that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be "human." One hundred thousand years ago, at least six different species of humans inhabited Earth. Yet today there is only one--homo sapiens. What happened to the others? And what may happen to us? Most books about the history of humanity pursue either a historical or a biological approach, but Dr. Yuval Noah Harari breaks the mold with this highly original book that begins about 70,000 years ago with the appearance of modern cognition. From examining the role evolving humans have played in the global ecosystem to charting the rise of empires, Sapiens integrates history and science to reconsider accepted narratives, connect past developments with contemporary concerns, and examine specific events within the context of larger ideas. Dr. Harari also compels us to look ahead, because over the last few decades humans have begun to bend laws of natural selection that have governed life for the past four billion years. We are acquiring the ability to design not only the world around us, but also ourselves. Where is this leading us, and what do we want to become? Featuring 27 photographs, 6 maps, and 25 illustrations/diagrams, this provocative and insightful work is sure to spark debate and is essential reading for aficionados of Jared Diamond, James Gleick, Matt Ridley, Robert Wright, and Sharon Moalem.
Darwin's on the Origin of Species by
An essential new edition of the 19th-century scientific masterpiece that translates Darwin's Victorian prose into modern English: "Most useful" (Walter Brock, Columbia University). Charles Darwin's most famous book On the Origin of Species is without question one of the most important books ever written. Yet many students have great difficulty understanding it. While even the grandest works of Victorian English can be a challeng for modern readers, Darwin's dense scientific prose is especially difficult to navigate. For an era in which Darwin is more talked about than read, doctoral student Daniel Duzdevich offers a clear, modern English rendering of Darwin's first edition. Neither an abridgement nor a summary, this version might best be described as a translation for contemporary English readers. A monument to reasoned insight, the Origin illustrates the value of extensive reflection, carefully gathered evidence, and sound scientific reasoning. By removing the linguistic barriers to understanding and appreciating the Origin, this edition brings 21st-century readers into closer contact with Darwin's revolutionary ideas.
The Code Breaker by
A Best Book of 2021 by Bloomberg BusinessWeek, Time, and The Washington Post The bestselling author of Leonardo da Vinci and Steve Jobs returns with a "compelling" (The Washington Post) account of how Nobel Prize winner Jennifer Doudna and her colleagues launched a revolution that will allow us to cure diseases, fend off viruses, and have healthier babies. When Jennifer Doudna was in sixth grade, she came home one day to find that her dad had left a paperback titled The Double Helix on her bed. She put it aside, thinking it was one of those detective tales she loved. When she read it on a rainy Saturday, she discovered she was right, in a way. As she sped through the pages, she became enthralled by the intense drama behind the competition to discover the code of life. Even though her high school counselor told her girls didn't become scientists, she decided she would. Driven by a passion to understand how nature works and to turn discoveries into inventions, she would help to make what the book's author, James Watson, told her was the most important biological advance since his codiscovery of the structure of DNA. She and her collaborators turned a curiosity of nature into an invention that will transform the human race: an easy-to-use tool that can edit DNA. Known as CRISPR, it opened a brave new world of medical miracles and moral questions. The development of CRISPR and the race to create vaccines for coronavirus will hasten our transition to the next great innovation revolution. The past half-century has been a digital age, based on the microchip, computer, and internet. Now we are entering a life-science revolution. Children who study digital coding will be joined by those who study genetic code. Should we use our new evolution-hacking powers to make us less susceptible to viruses? What a wonderful boon that would be! And what about preventing depression? Hmmm...Should we allow parents, if they can afford it, to enhance the height or muscles or IQ of their kids? After helping to discover CRISPR, Doudna became a leader in wrestling with these moral issues and, with her collaborator Emmanuelle Charpentier, won the Nobel Prize in 2020. Her story is an "enthralling detective story" (Oprah Daily) that involves the most profound wonders of nature, from the origins of life to the future of our species.
The Song of the Cell by
Winner of the 2023 PROSE Award for Excellence in Biological and Life Sciences and the 2023 Chautauqua Prize! Named a New York Times Notable Book and a Best Book of the Year by The Economist, Oprah Daily, BookPage, Book Riot, the New York Public Library, and more! In The Song of the Cell, the extraordinary author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning The Emperor of All Maladies and the #1 New York Times bestseller The Gene "blends cutting-edge research, impeccable scholarship, intrepid reporting, and gorgeous prose into an encyclopedic study that reads like a literary page-turner" (Oprah Daily). Mukherjee begins this magnificent story in the late 1600s, when a distinguished English polymath, Robert Hooke, and an eccentric Dutch cloth-merchant, Antonie van Leeuwenhoek looked down their handmade microscopes. What they saw introduced a radical concept that swept through biology and medicine, touching virtually every aspect of the two sciences, and altering both forever. It was the fact that complex living organisms are assemblages of tiny, self-contained, self-regulating units. Our organs, our physiology, our selves--hearts, blood, brains--are built from these compartments. Hooke christened them "cells." The discovery of cells--and the reframing of the human body as a cellular ecosystem--announced the birth of a new kind of medicine based on the therapeutic manipulations of cells. A hip fracture, a cardiac arrest, Alzheimer's dementia, AIDS, pneumonia, lung cancer, kidney failure, arthritis, COVID pneumonia--all could be reconceived as the results of cells, or systems of cells, functioning abnormally. And all could be perceived as loci of cellular therapies. Filled with writing so vivid, lucid, and suspenseful that complex science becomes thrilling, The Song of the Cell tells the story of how scientists discovered cells, began to understand them, and are now using that knowledge to create new humans. Told in six parts, and laced with Mukherjee's own experience as a researcher, a doctor, and a prolific reader, The Song of the Cell is both panoramic and intimate--a masterpiece on what it means to be human. "In an account both lyrical and capacious, Mukherjee takes us through an evolution of human understanding: from the seventeenth-century discovery that humans are made up of cells to our cutting-edge technologies for manipulating and deploying cells for therapeutic purposes" (The New Yorker).
The Gene by
The #1 NEW YORK TIMES Bestseller The basis for the PBS Ken Burns Documentary The Gene: An Intimate History From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Emperor of All Maladies--a fascinating history of the gene and "a magisterial account of how human minds have laboriously, ingeniously picked apart what makes us tick" (Elle). "Sid Mukherjee has the uncanny ability to bring together science, history, and the future in a way that is understandable and riveting, guiding us through both time and the mystery of life itself." -Ken Burns "Dr. Siddhartha Mukherjee dazzled readers with his Pulitzer Prize-winning The Emperor of All Maladies in 2010. That achievement was evidently just a warm-up for his virtuoso performance in The Gene: An Intimate History, in which he braids science, history, and memoir into an epic with all the range and biblical thunder of Paradise Lost" (The New York Times). In this biography Mukherjee brings to life the quest to understand human heredity and its surprising influence on our lives, personalities, identities, fates, and choices. "Mukherjee expresses abstract intellectual ideas through emotional stories...[and] swaddles his medical rigor with rhapsodic tenderness, surprising vulnerability, and occasional flashes of pure poetry" (The Washington Post). Throughout, the story of Mukherjee's own family--with its tragic and bewildering history of mental illness--reminds us of the questions that hang over our ability to translate the science of genetics from the laboratory to the real world. In riveting and dramatic prose, he describes the centuries of research and experimentation--from Aristotle and Pythagoras to Mendel and Darwin, from Boveri and Morgan to Crick, Watson and Franklin, all the way through the revolutionary twenty-first century innovators who mapped the human genome. "A fascinating and often sobering history of how humans came to understand the roles of genes in making us who we are--and what our manipulation of those genes might mean for our future" (Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel), The Gene is the revelatory and magisterial history of a scientific idea coming to life, the most crucial science of our time, intimately explained by a master. "The Gene is a book we all should read" (USA TODAY).
The Emperor of All Maladies by
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and a documentary from Ken Burns on PBS, this New York Times bestseller is "an extraordinary achievement" (The New Yorker)--a magnificent, profoundly humane "biography" of cancer--from its first documented appearances thousands of years ago through the epic battles in the twentieth century to cure, control, and conquer it to a radical new understanding of its essence. Physician, researcher, and award-winning science writer, Siddhartha Mukherjee examines cancer with a cellular biologist's precision, a historian's perspective, and a biographer's passion. The result is an astonishingly lucid and eloquent chronicle of a disease humans have lived with--and perished from--for more than five thousand years. The story of cancer is a story of human ingenuity, resilience, and perseverance, but also of hubris, paternalism, and misperception. Mukherjee recounts centuries of discoveries, setbacks, victories, and deaths, told through the eyes of his predecessors and peers, training their wits against an infinitely resourceful adversary that, just three decades ago, was thought to be easily vanquished in an all-out "war against cancer." The book reads like a literary thriller with cancer as the protagonist. Riveting, urgent, and surprising, The Emperor of All Maladies provides a fascinating glimpse into the future of cancer treatments. It is an illuminating book that provides hope and clarity to those seeking to demystify cancer.
The Palgrave Handbook of Biology and Society by
This comprehensive handbook synthesizes the often-fractured relationship between the study of biology and the study of society. Bringing together a compelling array of interdisciplinary contributions, the authors demonstrate how nuanced attention to both the biological and social sciences opens up novel perspectives upon some of the most significant sociological, anthropological, philosophical and biological questions of our era. The six sections cover topics ranging from genomics and epigenetics, to neuroscience and psychology to social epidemiology and medicine. The authors collaboratively present state-of-the-art research and perspectives in some of the most intriguing areas of what can be called biosocial and biocultural approaches, demonstrating how quickly we are moving beyond the acrimonious debates that characterized the border between biology and society for most of the twentieth century. This landmark volume will be an extremely valuable resource for scholars and practitioners in all areas of the social and biological sciences. The chapter 'Ten Theses on the Subject of Biology and Politics: Conceptual, Methodological, and Biopolitical Considerations' is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license via link.springer.com. Versions of the chapters 'The Transcendence of the Social', 'Scrutinizing the Epigenetics Revolution', 'Species of Biocapital, 2008, and Speciating Biocapital, 2017' and 'Experimental Entanglements: Social Science and Neuroscience Beyond Interdisciplinarity' are available open access via third parties. For further information please see license information in the chapters or on link.springer.com.
Handbook of Statistical Systems Biology by
Systems Biology is now entering a mature phase in which the key issues are characterising uncertainty and stochastic effects in mathematical models of biological systems. The area is moving towards a full statistical analysis and probabilistic reasoning over the inferences that can be made from mathematical models. This handbook presents a comprehensive guide to the discipline for practitioners and educators, in providing a full and detailed treatment of these important and emerging subjects. Leading experts in systems biology and statistics have come together to provide insight in to the major ideas in the field, and in particular methods of specifying and fitting models, and estimating the unknown parameters. This book: Provides a comprehensive account of inference techniques in systems biology.Introduces classical and Bayesian statistical methods for complex systems.Explores networks and graphical modeling as well as a wide range of statistical models for dynamical systems.Discusses various applications for statistical systems biology, such as gene regulation and signal transduction.Features statistical data analysis on numerous technologies, including metabolic and transcriptomic technologies.Presents an in-depth presentation of reverse engineering approaches.Provides colour illustrations to explain key concepts. This handbook will be a key resource for researchers practising systems biology, and those requiring a comprehensive overview of this important field.
Handbook of Hormones by
Handbook of Hormones: Comparative Endocrinology for Basic and Clinical Research collates fundamental information about the structure and function of hormones from basic biology to clinical use. The handbook offers a rapid way to obtain specific facts about the chemical and molecular characteristics of hormones, their receptors and signalling pathways, and the biological activities they regulate. The evolution of hormones and gene families is also covered both in the text and in online ancillaries. Users will find simple and visual ways to learn key molecular information. Chapters and online ancillary resources integrate additional sections, providing a comparative molecular, functional, and evolutionary consideration. Provides the only single resource available with concise, yet informative descriptions of hormones in vertebrates, invertebrates, and plants Presents hormones in groups according to their origin, so that readers can easily understand their inter-relation Includes comparative information on the structures and functions of hormones enabling readers to understand both general and specific actions in and across species Ancillary website hosts additional information, including sequence data, comparative data, figures, and tables
Handbook of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biology by 
Handbook of Research on Computational Intelligence Applications in Bioinformatics by
Developments in the areas of biology and bioinformatics are continuously evolving and creating a plethora of data that needs to be analyzed and decrypted. Since it can be difficult to decipher the multitudes of data within these areas, new computational techniques and tools are being employed to assist researchers in their findings. The Handbook of Research on Computational Intelligence Applications in Bioinformatics examines emergent research in handling real-world problems through the application of various computation technologies and techniques. Featuring theoretical concepts and best practices in the areas of computational intelligence, artificial intelligence, big data, and bio-inspired computing, this publication is a critical reference source for graduate students, professionals, academics, and researchers.
The Handbook of Plant Metabolomics by
This is the newest title in the successful Molecular Plant Biology Handbook Series. Just like the other titles in the series this new book presents an excellent overview of different approaches and techniques in Metabolomics. Contributors are either from ivy-league research institutions or from companies developing new technologies in this dynamic and fast-growing field. With its approach to introduce current techniques in plant metabolomics to a wider audience and with many labs and companies considering to introduce metabolomics for their research, the title meets a growing market. The Kahl books are in addition a trusted brand for the plant science community and have always sold above expectations.
Biological Knowledge Discovery Handbook by
The first comprehensive overview of preprocessing, mining, and postprocessing of biological data Molecular biology is undergoing exponential growth in both the volume and complexity of biological data--and knowledge discovery offers the capacity to automate complex search and data analysis tasks. This book presents a vast overview of the most recent developments on techniques and approaches in the field of biological knowledge discovery and data mining (KDD)--providing in-depth fundamental and technical field information on the most important topics encountered. Written by top experts, Biological Knowledge Discovery Handbook: Preprocessing, Mining, and Postprocessing of Biological Data covers the three main phases of knowledge discovery (data preprocessing, data processing--also known as data mining--and data postprocessing) and analyzes both verification systems and discovery systems. BIOLOGICAL DATA PREPROCESSING Part A: Biological Data Management Part B: Biological Data Modeling Part C: Biological Feature Extraction Part D Biological Feature Selection BIOLOGICAL DATA MINING Part E: Regression Analysis of Biological Data Part F Biological Data Clustering Part G: Biological Data Classification Part H: Association Rules Learning from Biological Data Part I: Text Mining and Application to Biological Data Part J: High-Performance Computing for Biological Data Mining Combining sound theory with practical applications in molecular biology, Biological Knowledge Discovery Handbook is ideal for courses in bioinformatics and biological KDD as well as for practitioners and professional researchers in computer science, life science, and mathematics.
Concise Encyclopaedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology by
Concise Encyclopaedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, 2nd Edition is a fully revised and updated version of this acclaimed resource. The book provides definitions and often explanations of over 1000 words, phrases and concepts relating to this fast-moving and exciting field, offering a convenient, one-stop summary of the core knowledge in the area. This second edition is an invaluable resource for students, researchers and academics.
|
