Research Guides: Electrical and Computer Engineering: Scholarly Sources

Why use scholarly sources?

Scholarly sources provide peer-reviewed original research articles and review articles. Engineers and scientists in academia, industry and government institutes continue to do research on all aspects of engineering design including materials, testing, sustainability and more.

Journal Articles -- present new research results based on specific experiments that follow a scientific method

Review Articles -- tell the story of research on a topic and report on usually hundreds of papers on a topic

Conference papers -- in engineering these are often peer-reviewed and provide important updates on a research project

Find computer and engineering scholarly research in the sources suggested below.

ECE -- Best Bets to find Research Articles and Conference Papers

Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive abstract and citation database from Elsevier. It covers peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It offers tools for tracking research trends, author impact, and institutional performance.
IEEE Xplore
Offers unlimited access to IEEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings, active standards, and backfiles dating to 1884. Covers topics including aerospace, AI, software engineering, telecommunications, biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics.

ECE -- more scholarly sources

Online journal databases provide an interface for you to search through a large collection of journals for specific articles related to your research. The journals included may vary from database to database, so searching through a variety of them will yield more comprehensive results.

The following databases are tailored to electrical & computer engineering subject areas and cover many of the most prominent journals in the field.

AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill
An engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
ACM Digital Library
Database of full-text articles and bibliographic literature covering computing and information technology from 1908 to the present time.
ECS Digital Library (Institute of Physics)
Search publications from the Electrochemical Society (ECS), including journals and ECS Transactions
Engineering Database (ProQuest Central)
Provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning numerous publications, many in full text.
SPIE Digital Library Proceedings
The SPIE Digital Library is the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. The collection spans biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Famously known for its computer science books, O'Reilly now offers an extensive online database from many publishers, including Packt, Pearson, and HarperCollins. This database is jam packed with books, videos, and other tutorial formats that cover every known field in computer science. Please note that from even on-campus you will be prompted to login to this resource.
Web of Science: Core Collection
Citation database of leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

The Web of Science platform included these core collection databases:
* Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present;
* Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-present;
* Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present;
* Conference Proceedings Index 1990-present;
* Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science 1990-present;
* Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities 1990-present;
* Book Citation Index - Science 2005-present;
* Book Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities 2005-present;
* Emerging Sources Citation Index 2019-present