Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]

Open Educational Resources: Finding OER

The SUNY OASIS search tool allows you to search by subject, content type and license type. OASIS searches open content from 88 different sources contains 352,345 records.

 

George Mason University's Mason OER Metafinder searches across many major OER repositories. Use the search box to get started finding OER for your courses.

Search the Mason OER Metafinder
 
Advanced Search
Open Textbook Collections

Open Textbook Library - includes 635 high quality books that are 66% reviewed that have open-licenses with more added weekly. Textbooks can usually be downloaded in PDF, EPUB and HTML formats. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

OpenStax - includes 40+ open textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers. Includes tens of thousands of "learning objects" called "pages" or modules.

OER Commons - includes ten thousands of college level OER open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world. 

Open SUNY Textbooks - an open textbook project of the State University of New York Libraries, funded by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology grants.

Open SUNY Textbook - an open textbook publishing initiative established by the State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.

MERLOT Open Textbook - includes a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty developed resources, including web sources, PDF, videos, images, and much more..

Affordable Learning Solutions -  a program of the California State University System partnering with higher education institutions, professional societies, and industry.

BCcampus OpenEd - provides a curated collection of open textbooks. Many of these textbooks have been reviewed and vetted by BC post-secondary faculty.

College Open Textbooks - approximately 100+ peer-reviewed open textbooks collected. Includes a range of formats and copyright licenses are free for use.

Lumen Learning - discover affordable, simple-to-adapt OER course materials that improve learning.

DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books - Includes 16,000+ academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 317 publishers. The aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of open access books.

Library Ebooks as Textbooks Alternative

NJIT Libraries Ebooks can also be used as textbook alternative or supplemental materials to enhance delivery of your course. Chapters or pages within an ebook can be downloaded and linked to directly from Moodle or Canvas.

  • Moodle will be retired fall 2020.

Open Learning Platforms

Subject Specific Open Textbooks Collection

Below are subject-specific OER, open textbooks, supplemental resources and library resources:

Architecture, Art & Design

Biology

Chemistry

Engineering

Computer Science

Humanities and Social Sciences

Management and Business

Mathematics

Physics

 

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2019 | Robert W. Van Houten Library