FED 101 - Fundamentals of Engineering Design -- NCE Edition

Welcome to the FED 101 Research Guide for NCE

Use this guide to help you with strategies and best practices for a successful FED 101 research/writing assignment. 

This guide has been designed to help you:

• Identify and access high-quality professional engineering sources to search for relevant information
• Find relevant peer-reviewed original research articles in the professional engineering literature of your chosen field
• Find relevant trade publication or magazine or news articles
• Format citations -- get to know a good citation manager to help you along with this (Zotero is our preferred choice). 

If you need any additional support, please get in touch with your subject librarian or find more ways to get help on our research help page. Check out our full list of research guides for even more suggested resources tip and research strategies -- specific to your field.

 -- Your research help team at NJIT Library 

There are four ways to find articles from the library homepage:

Known Article: For an article you already know about use the Search Everything tab from the library homepage (i.e. paste in the title or title words and author's last name)

By Keyword: To find articles on a subject use the Search Everything tab and type in subject keywords or choose a subject specific database to narrow the search pool. (This searches almost all of the library databases at once.)

Within a Specific Journal: Use the Journals+ tab to search for a specific periodical title (i.e. Harvard Business Review) to locate the journal on the library website. Choose the database based on dates available. Then browse by date or issue, or search within the title.

By Subject: Choose the Databases tab and select a database related to the subject you want to search. Use the drop-down for our frequently used databases, use the A-Z link if you know which database you want, or use "databases by subject" to find databases that cover your subject. Hard to choose? Contact a librarian.