|
|
![[NJIT Library Logo]](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/2307/images/Libcal-logo.jpg){kind=logo}
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
This book list is aimed for those who are beginners in computer science.
Each of the textbooks offers a basic overview in a topic that is fundamental to computer science: programming, architecture, operating systems, and discrete mathematics.
The popular books are for topics you may find useful for the more social aspects of computer science, such as coding interviews, job searching, ethics, business, big tech, etc.
Handbooks are reference books that provide ready reference information a topic. Here is where you'll find books such as encyclopedias. Many of the encyclopedias can be found in our Spring Link database.
If you seek a more niche topic in computer science, such as machine learning, hacking, etc., please use our online catalog!
Computer Science: An Overview by
The sixth edition of this classic text for the breadth-first computer science course has been thoroughly updated to discuss increasingly important trends such as networking, object-oriented programming, and genetic algorithms. Author and educator J. Glenn Brookshear continues to introduce students to the discipline of computer science by providing accurate and balanced coverage of CS as a whole and of a variety of CS topics, including programming languages and artificial intelligence. This edition features new sections on public key encryption, evolutionary programming and genetic algorithms, as well as thoroughly revised sections on data manipulation, operating systems and networking. Features *Updates students on recent changes and current trends in the industry, such as networking, genetic algorithms and object-oriented programming * Puts learning in perspective by using real-life analogies and concrete examples to make even the most complex topics accessible to students *Web site provides students and instructors with online resources of topics found in the text *New and extended ethical sections in software engineering and database systems, in addition to optional Computers a
Introduction to Algorithms by
The latest edition of the essential text and professional reference, with substantial new material on such topics as vEB trees, multithreaded algorithms, dynamic programming, and edge-based flow. Some books on algorithms are rigorous but incomplete; others cover masses of material but lack rigor. Introduction to Algorithms uniquely combines rigor and comprehensiveness. The book covers a broad range of algorithms in depth, yet makes their design and analysis accessible to all levels of readers. Each chapter is relatively self-contained and can be used as a unit of study. The algorithms are described in English and in a pseudocode designed to be readable by anyone who has done a little programming. The explanations have been kept elementary without sacrificing depth of coverage or mathematical rigor. The first edition became a widely used text in universities worldwide as well as the standard reference for professionals. The second edition featured new chapters on the role of algorithms, probabilistic analysis and randomized algorithms, and linear programming. The third edition has been revised and updated throughout. It includes two completely new chapters, on van Emde Boas trees and multithreaded algorithms, substantial additions to the chapter on recurrence (now called "Divide-and-Conquer"), and an appendix on matrices. It features improved treatment of dynamic programming and greedy algorithms and a new notion of edge-based flow in the material on flow networks. Many exercises and problems have been added for this edition. The international paperback edition is no longer available; the hardcover is available worldwide.
The Pragmatic Programmer by
Written as a series of self-contained sections and filled with entertaining anecdotes, thoughtful examples, and interesting analogies, The Pragmatic Programmer illustrates the best practices and major pitfalls of many different aspects of software development. Whether you're a new coder, an experienced programmer, or a manager responsible for software projects, use these lessons daily, and you'll quickly see improvements in personal productivity, accuracy, and job satisfaction. You'll learn skills and develop habits and attitudes that form the foundation for long-term success in your career. You'll become a Pragmatic Programmer.
Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture by
The Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture was awarded a "Textbook Excellence Award" ("Texty") in it's second, third, and fourth editions from the Text and Academic Authors Association (TAA) the only association devoted solely to serving textbook and academic authors since 1987 (www.TAAonline.net). The "Textbook Excellence Award" recognizes works for their excellence in the areas of content, presentation, appeal, and teachability.Each new print copy of Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture also includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Bestselling text, The Essentials of Computer Organization and Architecture, Fifth Edition, is comprehensive enough to address all necessary organization and architecture topics, but concise enough to be appropriate for a single-term course. Its focus on real-world examples and practical applications encourages students to develop a "big-picture" understanding of how essential organization and architecture concepts are applied in the computing world. In addition to direct correlation with the ACM/IEEE guidelines for computer organization and architecture, the text exposes readers to the inner workings of a modern digital computer through an integrated presentation of fundamental concepts and principles.With Navigate 2, technology and content combine to expand the reach of your classroom. Whether you teach an online, hybrid, or traditional classroom-based course, Navigate 2 delivers unbeatable value. Experience Navigate 2 today at www.jblnavigate.com/2.
The C Programming Language by
Introduces the features of the C programming language, discusses data types, variables, operators, control flow, functions, pointers, arrays, and structures, and looks at the UNIX system interface.
Computer Science: a structured approach using C++ by
Based on the tenet that good habits are formed early, authors Behrouz Forouzan and Richard Gilberg consistently emphasize the principles of structured programming and software engineering.
Python Programming: an introduction to computer science by
This third edition of John Zelle's Python Programming continues the tradition of updating the text to reflect new technologies while maintaining a time-tested approach to teaching introductory computer science. An important change to this edition is the removal of most uses of eval and the addition of a discussion of its dangers. In our increasingly connected world, it's never too early to begin considering computer security issues. This edition also uses several new graphics examples, developed throughout chapters 4-12.
Essential Discrete Mathematics for Computer Science by
A more intuitive approach to the mathematical foundation of computer science Discrete mathematics is the basis of much of computer science, from algorithms and automata theory to combinatorics and graph theory. This textbook covers the discrete mathematics that every computer science student needs to learn. Guiding students quickly through thirty-one short chapters that discuss one major topic each, this flexible book can be tailored to fit the syllabi for a variety of courses. Proven in the classroom, Essential Discrete Mathematics for Computer Science aims to teach mathematical reasoning as well as concepts and skills by stressing the art of proof. It is fully illustrated in color, and each chapter includes a concise summary as well as a set of exercises. The text requires only precalculus, and where calculus is needed, a quick summary of the basic facts is provided. Essential Discrete Mathematics for Computer Science is the ideal introductory textbook for standard undergraduate courses, and is also suitable for high school courses, distance education for adult learners, and self-study. The essential introduction to discrete mathematics Features thirty-one short chapters, each suitable for a single class lesson Includes more than 300 exercises Almost every formula and theorem proved in full Breadth of content makes the book adaptable to a variety of courses Each chapter includes a concise summary Solutions manual available to instructors
Guide to Operating Systems by
Discover the latest information for working on Windows, Mac OS, and UNIX/Linux platforms with GUIDE TO OPERATING SYSTEMS, 5E. You examine operating system theory, installation, upgrading, configuring operating system and hardware, file systems, virtualization, security, hardware options, storage, resource sharing, network connectivity, maintenance, and troubleshooting. Easily understood and highly practical, GUIDE TO OPERATING SYSTEMS, 5E is the resource you need to deepen your understanding of different operating systems. This edition helps you understand the fundamental concepts of computer operating systems. The book specifically addresses Windows 10 and earlier Windows client OSs, Windows Server 2012 R2 and earlier Windows server OSs with a preview of Windows Server 2016, Fedora Linux, and Mac OS X El Capitan and earlier. In addition, general information prepares you to work with many other operating systems.
The Effective Engineer: how to leverage your efforts in software engineering to make a disproportionate and meaningful impact by
The most effective engineers - the ones who have risen to become distinguished engineers and leaders at their companies - can produce 10 times the impact of other engineers, but they're not working 10 times the hours. They've internalized a mindset that took me years of trial and error to figure out. I'm going to share that mindset with you - along with hundreds of actionable techniques and proven habits - so you can shortcut those years. Introducing The Effective Engineer - the only book designed specifically for today's software engineers, based on extensive interviews with engineering leaders at top tech companies, and packed with hundreds of techniques to accelerate your career. For two years, I embarked on a quest seeking an answer to one question: How do the most effective engineers make their efforts, their teams, and their careers more successful? I interviewed and collected stories from engineering VPs, directors, managers, and other leaders at today's top software companies: established, household names like Google, Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn; rapidly growing mid-sized companies like Dropbox, Square, Box, Airbnb, and Etsy; and startups like Reddit, Stripe, Instagram, and Lyft. These leaders shared stories about the most valuable insights they've learned and the most common and costly mistakes that they've seen engineers - sometimes themselves - make. This is just a small sampling of the hard questions I posed to them: What engineering qualities correlate with future success? What have you done that has paid off the highest returns? What separates the most effective engineers you've worked with from everyone else? What's the most valuable lesson your team has learned in the past year? What advice do you give to new engineers on your team? Everyone's story is different, but many of the lessons share common themes. You'll get to hear stories like: How did Instagram's team of 5 engineers build and support a service that grew to over 40 million users by the time the company was acquired? How and why did Quora deploy code to production 40 to 50 times per day? How did the team behind Google Docs become the fastest acquisition to rewrite its software to run on Google's infrastructure? How does Etsy use continuous experimentation to design features that are guaranteed to increase revenue at launch? How did Facebook's small infrastructure team effectively operate thousands of database servers? How did Dropbox go from barely hiring any new engineers to nearly tripling its team size year-over-year? What's more, I've distilled their stories into actionable habits and lessons that you can follow step-by-step to make your career and your team more successful. The skills used by effective engineers are all learnable. And I'll teach them to you. With The Effective Engineer, I'll teach you a unifying framework called leverage - the value produced per unit of time invested - that you can use to identify the activities that produce disproportionate results. Here's a sneak peek at some of the lessons you'll learn. You'll learn how to: Prioritize the right projects and tasks to increase your impact. Earn more leeway from your peers and managers on your projects. Spend less time maintaining and fixing software and more time building and shipping new features. Produce more accurate software estimates. Validate your ideas cheaply to reduce wasted work. Navigate organizational and people-related bottlenecks. Find the appropriate level of code reviews, testing, abstraction, and technical debt to balance speed and quality. Shorten your debugging workflow to increase your iteration speed. Use metrics to quantify your impact and consistently make progress.
The Four by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER USA TODAY BESTSELLER Amazon, Apple, Facebook, and Google are the four most influential companies on the planet. Just about everyone thinks they know how they got there. Just about everyone is wrong. For all that's been written about the Four over the last two decades, no one has captured their power and staggering success as insightfully as Scott Galloway. Instead of buying the myths these companies broadcast, Galloway asks fundamental questions. How did the Four infiltrate our lives so completely that they're almost impossible to avoid (or boycott)? Why does the stock market forgive them for sins that would destroy other firms? And as they race to become the world's first trillion-dollar company, can anyone challenge them? In the same irreverent style that has made him one of the world's most celebrated business professors, Galloway deconstructs the strategies of the Four that lurk beneath their shiny veneers. He shows how they manipulate the fundamental emotional needs that have driven us since our ancestors lived in caves, at a speed and scope others can't match. And he reveals how you can apply the lessons of their ascent to your own business or career. Whether you want to compete with them, do business with them, or simply live in the world they dominate, you need to understand the Four.
Artificial Intelligence in Practice by
Cyber-solutions to real-world business problems Artificial Intelligence in Practice is a fascinating look into how companies use AI and machine learning to solve problems. Presenting 50 case studies of actual situations, this book demonstrates practical applications to issues faced by businesses around the globe. The rapidly evolving field of artificial intelligence has expanded beyond research labs and computer science departments and made its way into the mainstream business environment. Artificial intelligence and machine learning are cited as the most important modern business trends to drive success. It is used in areas ranging from banking and finance to social media and marketing. This technology continues to provide innovative solutions to businesses of all sizes, sectors and industries. This engaging and topical book explores a wide range of cases illustrating how businesses use AI to boost performance, drive efficiency, analyse market preferences and many others. Best-selling author and renowned AI expert Bernard Marr reveals how machine learning technology is transforming the way companies conduct business. This detailed examination provides an overview of each company, describes the specific problem and explains how AI facilitates resolution. Each case study provides a comprehensive overview, including some technical details as well as key learning summaries: Understand how specific business problems are addressed by innovative machine learning methods Explore how current artificial intelligence applications improve performance and increase efficiency in various situations Expand your knowledge of recent AI advancements in technology Gain insight on the future of AI and its increasing role in business and industry Artificial Intelligence in Practice: How 50 Successful Companies Used Artificial Intelligence to Solve Problems is an insightful and informative exploration of the transformative power of technology in 21st century commerce.
Cracking the Tech Career by
Become the applicant Google can't turn down Cracking the Tech Career is the job seeker's guide to landing a coveted position at one of the top tech firms. A follow-up to The Google Resume, this book provides new information on what these companies want, and how to show them you have what it takes to succeed in the role. Early planners will learn what to study, and established professionals will discover how to make their skillset and experience set them apart from the crowd. Author Gayle Laakmann McDowell worked in engineering at Google, and interviewed over 120 candidates as a member of the hiring committee - in this book, she shares her perspectives on what works and what doesn't, what makes you desirable, and what gets your resume saved or deleted. Apple, Microsoft, and Google are the coveted companies in the current job market. They field hundreds of resumes every day, and have their pick of the cream of the crop when it comes to selecting new hires. If you think the right alma mater is all it takes, you need to update your thinking. Top companies, especially in the tech sector, are looking for more. This book is the complete guide to becoming the candidate they just cannot turn away. Discover the career paths that run through the top tech firms Learn how to craft the prefect resume and prepare for the interview Find ways to make yourself stand out from the hordes of other applicants Understand what the top companies are looking for, and how to demonstrate that you're it These companies need certain skillsets, but they also want a great culture fit. Grades aren't everything, experience matters, and a certain type of applicant tends to succeed. Cracking the Tech Career reveals what the hiring committee wants, and shows you how to get it.
Software engineering at Google : lessons learned from programming over time
AI Ethics by
This overview of the ethical issues raised by artificial intelligence moves beyond hype and nightmare scenarios to address concrete questions-offering a compelling, necessary read for our ChatGPT era. Artificial intelligence powers Google's search engine, enables Facebook to target advertising, and allows Alexa and Siri to do their jobs. AI is also behind self-driving cars, predictive policing, and autonomous weapons that can kill without human intervention. These and other AI applications raise complex ethical issues that are the subject of ongoing debate. This volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series offers an accessible synthesis of these issues. Written by a philosopher of technology, AI Ethics goes beyond the usual hype and nightmare scenarios to address concrete questions. Mark Coeckelbergh describes influential AI narratives, ranging from Frankenstein's monster to transhumanism and the technological singularity. He surveys relevant philosophical discussions- questions about the fundamental differences between humans and machines and debates over the moral status of AI. He explains the technology of AI, describing different approaches and focusing on machine learning and data science. He offers an overview of important ethical issues, including privacy concerns, responsibility and the delegation of decision making, transparency, and bias as it arises at all stages of data science processes. He also considers the future of work in an AI economy. Finally, he analyzes a range of policy proposals and discusses challenges for policymakers. He argues for ethical practices that embed values in design, translate democratic values into practices and include a vision of the good life and the good society.
Swipe to Unlock by
WANT A NON-CODING JOB AT A TECH COMPANY? Interested in product management, marketing, strategy, or business development? The tech industry is the place to be: nontechnical employees at tech companies outnumber their engineering counterparts almost 3 to 1 (Forbes, 2017). You might be worried that your lack of coding skills or tech industry knowledge will hold you back. But here's the secret: you don't need to learn how to code to break into the tech industry. Written by three former Microsoft PMs, Swipe to Unlock gives you a breakdown of the concepts you need to know to crush your interviews, like software development, big data, and internet security. We'll explain how Google's ad targeting algorithm works, but Google probably won't ask you how to explain it in a non-technical interview. But they might ask you how you could increase ad revenue from a particular market segment. And if you know how Google's ad platform works, you'll be in a far stronger position to come up with good growth strategies. We'll show you how Robinhood, an app that lets you trade stocks without commission, makes money by earning interest on the unspent money that users keep in their accounts. No one will ask you to explain this. But if someone asks you to come up with a new monetization strategy for Venmo (which lets you send and receive money without fees), you could pull out the Robinhood anecdote to propose that Venmo earn interest off the money sitting in users' accounts. We'll talk about some business cases like why Microsoft acquired LinkedIn. Microsoft interviewers probably won't ask you about the motive of the purchase, but they might ask you for ideas to improve Microsoft Outlook. From our case study, you'll learn how the Microsoft and LinkedIn ecosystems could work together, which can help you craft creative, impactful answers. You could propose that Outlook use LinkedIn's social graph to give salespeople insights about clients before meeting them. Or you could suggest linking Outlook's organizational tree to LinkedIn to let HR managers analyze their company's hierarchy and figure out what kind of talent they need to add. (We'll further explore both ideas in the book.) Either way, you're sure to impress. Learn the must know concepts of tech from authors who have received job offers for Facebook's Rotational Product Manager, Google's Associate Product Marketing Manager, and Microsoft's Program Manager to get a competitive edge at your interviews!
Cracking the Coding Interview by
I am not a recruiter. I am a software engineer. And as such, I know what it's like to be asked to whip up brilliant algorithms on the spot and then write flawless code on a whiteboard. I've been through this as a candidate and as an interviewer. Cracking the Coding Interview, 6th Edition is here to help you through this process, teaching you what you need to know and enabling you to perform at your very best. I've coached and interviewed hundreds of software engineers. The result is this book. Learn how to uncover the hints and hidden details in a question, discover how to break down a problem into manageable chunks, develop techniques to unstick yourself when stuck, learn (or re-learn) core computer science concepts, and practice on 189 interview questions and solutions. These interview questions are real; they are not pulled out of computer science textbooks. They reflect what's truly being asked at the top companies, so that you can be as prepared as possible. WHAT'S INSIDE? - 189 programming interview questions, ranging from the basics to the trickiest algorithm problems. - A walk-through of how to derive each solution, so that you can learn how to get there yourself. - Hints on how to solve each of the 189 questions, just like what you would get in a real interview. - Five proven strategies to tackle algorithm questions, so that you can solve questions you haven't seen. - Extensive coverage of essential topics, such as big O time, data structures, and core algorithms. - A behind the scenes look at how top companies like Google and Facebook hire developers. - Techniques to prepare for and ace the soft side of the interview: behavioral questions. - For interviewers and companies: details on what makes a good interview question and hiring process.
Coders: the making of a new tribe and the remaking of the world by
Facebook's algorithms shaping the news. Self-driving cars roaming the streets. Revolution on Twitter and romance on Tinder. We live in a world constructed of code--and coders are the ones who built it for us. Programmers shape our everyday behavior: When they make something easy to do, we do more of it. When they make it hard or impossible, we do less of it. From acclaimed tech writer Clive Thompson comes a brilliant anthropological reckoning with the most powerful tribe in the world today, computer programmers, in a book that interrogates who they are, how they think, what qualifies as greatness in their world, and what should give us pause. In pop culture and media, the people who create the code that rules our world are regularly portrayed in hackneyed, simplified terms, as ciphers in hoodies. Thompson goes far deeper, taking us close to some of the great programmers of our time, including the creators of Facebook's News Feed, Instagram, Google's cutting-edge AI, and more. Speaking to everyone from revered "10X" elites to neophytes, back-end engineers and front-end designers, Thompson explores the distinctive psychology of this vocation--which combines a love of logic, an obsession with efficiency, the joy of puzzle-solving, and a superhuman tolerance for mind-bending frustration. Along the way, Coders ponders the morality and politics of code, including its implications for civic life and the economy and the major controversies of our era. In accessible, erudite prose, Thompson unpacks the surprising history of the field, beginning with the first coders -- brilliant and pioneering women, who, despite crafting some of the earliest personal computers and programming languages, were later written out of history. At the same time, the book deftly illustrates how programming has become a marvelous new art form--a source of delight and creativity, not merely danger. To get as close to his subject as possible, Thompson picks up the thread of his own long-abandoned coding skills as he reckons, in his signature, highly personal style, with what superb programming looks like. To understand the world today, we need to understand code and its consequences. With Coders, Thompson gives a definitive look into the heart of the machine.
Surviving the Whiteboard Interview by
The industry standard whiteboard interview can be daunting for developers. Let's face it: it combines the worst aspects of a typical interview, on-the-spot public speaking, a quiz show, and a dinner party full of strangers judging you--all at once. Brilliant developers can let their nerves get the best of them and completely bomb a whiteboard interview, while inexperienced developers who excel in soft skills can breeze through them. In Surviving the Whiteboard Interview, author William Gant uses his real-world knowledge and expertise to guide you through the psychological roadblocks of a coding test while also providing you with a sample coding challenge. With enough preparation, information, and assured confidence, you can survive a whiteboard interview at any organization. In addition to the benefits listed above, Gant helps you explore how you can create a good soft skills impression that will last beyond the whiteboard test by showing your work ethic, positive attitude, and ability to take and implement criticism effectively. These assets will unequivocally serve other parts of your life outside of an interview context, as well. While Gant does not promise that you will ever truly enjoy interviewing, he does promise to arm you with the proper preparation techniques and knowledge needed to tame the common fears and dread that come along with it. Maximize your career potential and get inspired with Surviving the Whiteboard Interview. The steps to your dream role just might be closer than you think. What You Will Learn Practice both hard and soft skills required to succeed at a whiteboard interview, covering coding tests as well as psychological preparation Learn how to make other aspects of your interview stronger, so you can create a great impression Master solving common whiteboard problems in different programming languages Who This Book is For This book is primarily for aspiring software developers who are looking for a job in the field. However, it will also be helpful for more seasoned developers who find interviewing painful and want to improve their skills.
Elements of Programming Interviews in Java by
This is a larger-format version of Elements of Programming Interviews in Java. Specifically, the font size is larger, and the page size is 7"x10" (the regular format uses 6"x9"). The content is identical. This is the Java version of our book. See our website for links to the C++ version.Have you ever... Wanted to work at an exciting futuristic company? Struggled with an interview problem thatcould have been solved in 15 minutes? Wished you could study real-world computing problems? If so, you need to read Elements of Programming Interviews (EPI). EPI is your comprehensive guide to interviewing for software development roles. The core of EPI is a collection of over 250 problems with detailed solutions. The problems are representative of interview questions asked at leading software companies. The problems are illustrated with 200 figures, 300 tested programs, and 150 additional variants. The book begins with a summary of the nontechnical aspects of interviewing, such as strategies for a great interview, common mistakes, perspectives from the other side of the table, tips on negotiating the best offer, and a guide to the best ways to use EPI. We also provide a summary of data structures, algorithms, and problem solving patterns. Coding problems are presented through a series of chapters on basic and advanced data structures, searching, sorting, algorithm design principles, and concurrency. Each chapter stars with a brief introduction, a case study, top tips, and a review of the most important library methods. This is followed by a broad and thought-provoking set of problems. A practical, fun approach to computer science fundamentals, as seen through the lens of common programming interview questions. Jeff Atwood/Co-founder, Stack Overflow and Discourse
Elements of Programming Interviews in Python by
This is the Python version of our book. See the website for links to the C++ and Java version.Have you ever... Wanted to work at an exciting futuristic company? Struggled with an interview problem thatcould have been solved in 15 minutes? Wished you could study real-world computing problems? If so, you need to read Elements of Programming Interviews (EPI). EPI is your comprehensive guide to interviewing for software development roles. The core of EPI is a collection of over 250 problems with detailed solutions. The problems are representative of interview questions asked at leading software companies. The problems are illustrated with 200 figures, 300 tested programs, and 150 additional variants. The book begins with a summary of the nontechnical aspects of interviewing, such as strategies for a great interview, common mistakes, perspectives from the other side of the table, tips on negotiating the best offer, and a guide to the best ways to use EPI. We also provide a summary of data structures, algorithms, and problem solving patterns. Coding problems are presented through a series of chapters on basic and advanced data structures, searching, sorting, algorithm design principles, and concurrency. Each chapter stars with a brief introduction, a case study, top tips, and a review of the most important library methods. This is followed by a broad and thought-provoking set of problems. A practical, fun approach to computer science fundamentals, as seen through the lens of common programming interview questions. Jeff Atwood/Co-founder, Stack Overflow and Discourse
Elements of Programming Interviews by
This is a larger-format version of Elements of Programming Interviews. The language is C++. Specifically, the font size is larger, and the page size is 7"x10" (the regular format uses 6"x9"). The content is identical. Have you ever... Wanted to work at an exciting futuristic company? Struggled with an interview problem thatcould have been solved in 15 minutes? Wished you could study real-world computing problems? If so, you need to read Elements of Programming Interviews (EPI). EPI is your comprehensive guide to interviewing for software development roles. The core of EPI is a collection of over 250 problems with detailed solutions. The problems are representative of interview questions asked at leading software companies. The problems are illustrated with 200 figures, 300 tested programs, and 150 additional variants. The book begins with a summary of the nontechnical aspects of interviewing, such as strategies for a great interview, common mistakes, perspectives from the other side of the table, tips on negotiating the best offer, and a guide to the best ways to use EPI. We also provide a summary of data structures, algorithms, and problem solving patterns. Coding problems are presented through a series of chapters on basic and advanced data structures, searching, sorting, algorithm design principles, and concurrency. Each chapter stars with a brief introduction, a case study, top tips, and a review of the most important library methods. This is followed by a broad and thought-provoking set of problems. A practical, fun approach to computer science fundamentals, as seen through the lens of common programming interview questions. Jeff Atwood/Co-founder, Stack Overflow and Discourse
The Browser Hacker's Handbook by
Hackers exploit browser vulnerabilities to attack deep within networks The Browser Hacker's Handbook gives a practical understanding of hacking the everyday web browser and using it as a beachhead to launch further attacks deep into corporate networks. Written by a team of highly experienced computer security experts, the handbook provides hands-on tutorials exploring a range of current attack methods. The web browser has become the most popular and widely used computer "program" in the world. As the gateway to the Internet, it is part of the storefront to any business that operates online, but it is also one of the most vulnerable entry points of any system. With attacks on the rise, companies are increasingly employing browser-hardening techniques to protect the unique vulnerabilities inherent in all currently used browsers. The Browser Hacker's Handbook thoroughly covers complex security issues and explores relevant topics such as: Bypassing the Same Origin Policy ARP spoofing, social engineering, and phishing to access browsers DNS tunneling, attacking web applications, and proxying--all from the browser Exploiting the browser and its ecosystem (plugins and extensions) Cross-origin attacks, including Inter-protocol Communication and Exploitation The Browser Hacker's Handbook is written with a professional security engagement in mind. Leveraging browsers as pivot points into a target's network should form an integral component into any social engineering or red-team security assessment. This handbook provides a complete methodology to understand and structure your next browser penetration test.
Computer and Information Security Handbook by
Computer and Information Security Handbook, Third Edition, provides the most current and complete reference on computer security available in one volume. The book offers deep coverage of an extremely wide range of issues in computer and cybersecurity theory, applications, and best practices, offering the latest insights into established and emerging technologies and advancements. With new parts devoted to such current topics as Cloud Security, Cyber-Physical Security, and Critical Infrastructure Security, the book now has 100 chapters written by leading experts in their fields, as well as 12 updated appendices and an expanded glossary. It continues its successful format of offering problem-solving techniques that use real-life case studies, checklists, hands-on exercises, question and answers, and summaries. Chapters new to this edition include such timely topics as Cyber Warfare, Endpoint Security, Ethical Hacking, Internet of Things Security, Nanoscale Networking and Communications Security, Social Engineering, System Forensics, Wireless Sensor Network Security, Verifying User and Host Identity, Detecting System Intrusions, Insider Threats, Security Certification and Standards Implementation, Metadata Forensics, Hard Drive Imaging, Context-Aware Multi-Factor Authentication, Cloud Security, Protecting Virtual Infrastructure, Penetration Testing, and much more. Online chapters can also be found on the book companion website: https://www.elsevier.com/books-and-journals/book-companion/9780128038437
Encyclopedia of Algorithms by
This dynamic reference work provides solutions to vital algorithmic problems for scholars, researchers, practitioners, teachers and students in fields such as computer science, mathematics, statistics, biology, economics, financial software, and medical informatics. This second edition is broadly expanded, building upon the success of its former edition with more than 450 new and updated entries. These entries are designed to ensure algorithms are presented from growing areas of research such as bioinformatics, combinatorial group testing, differential privacy, enumeration algorithms, game theory, massive data algorithms, modern learning theory, social networks, and VLSI CAD algorithms. Over 630 entries are organized alphabetically by problem, with subentries allowing for distinct solutions. Each entry includes a description of the basic algorithmic problem; the input and output specifications; key results; examples of applications; citations to key literature, open problems, experimental results, links to data sets and downloadable code. All entries are peer-reviewed, written by leading experts in the field--and each entry contains links to a summary of the author's research work. This defining reference is available in both print and online--a dynamic living work with hyperlinks to related entries, cross references citations, and a myriad other valuable URLs. New and Updated entries include: Algorithmic Aspects of Distributed Sensor Networks, Algorithms for Modern Computers Bioinformatics Certified Reconstruction and Mesh Generation Combinatorial Group Testing Compression of Text and Data Structures Computational Counting Computational Economics Computational Geometry Differential Privacy Enumeration Algorithms Exact Exponential Algorithms Game Theory Graph Drawing Group Testing Internet Algorithms Kernels and Compressions Massive Data Algorithms Mathematical Optimization Modern Learning Theory Social Networks Stable Marriage Problems, k-SAT Algorithms Sublinear Algorithms Tile Self-Assembly VLSI CAD Algorithms
Encyclopedia of Big Data Technologies by
The Encyclopedia of Big Data Technologies provides researchers, educators, students and industry professionals with a comprehensive authority over the most relevant Big Data Technology concepts. With over 300 articles written by worldwide subject matter experts from both industry and academia, the encyclopedia covers topics such as big data storage systems, NoSQL database, cloud computing, distributed systems, data processing, data management, machine learning and social technologies, data science. Each peer-reviewed, highly structured entry provides the reader with basic terminology, subject overviews, key research results, application examples, future directions, cross references and a bibliography. The entries are expository and tutorial, making this reference a practical resource for students, academics, or professionals. In addition, the distinguished, international editorial board of the encyclopedia consists of well-respected scholars, each developing topics based upon their expertise.
Encyclopedia of Database Systems by
This revised and expanded edition of Encyclopedia of Database Systems provides easy access to crucial concepts relevant to all aspects of very large databases, data management, and database systems, including areas of current interest and research results of historical significance. This comprehensive reference is organized alphabetically and each entry presents basic terminology, concepts, methods and algorithms, key results to date, references to the literature, and cross-references to other entries. Topics for the encyclopedia--including areas of current interest as well as research results of historical significance--were selected by a distinguished international advisory board and written by world-class experts in the field. New entries that reflect recent developments and technological advances in very large databases include: big data, big data technology, cloud computing, cloud data centers, business analytics, social networks, ranking, trust management, query over encrypted data, and more. Entirely new entries include database systems, relational database systems, databases, multimedia databases, bioinformatics, workflow systems, and web data management. Encyclopedia of Database Systems, 2nd edition, is designed to meet the needs of researchers, professors, graduate and undergraduate students in computer science and engineering. Industry professionals, from database specialists to software developers, will also benefit from this valuable reference work.
Encyclopedia of GIS by
New In This Edition: This second edition of the Encyclopedia of GIS includes 30% to 50% new content. It provides up-to-date information on emerging topics such as spatial big data, smart-phone GIS, urban computing and mobile recommender systems. It also expands the first edition's rich set of GIS-related commercial and societal applications such as geo-targeting, geo-fencing and understanding climate changes, while enabling more comprehensive coverage of classical GIS topics such as map projections, global positioning systems and spatial cognition. The entries explain the key software, data sets and processes used by geographers and computational scientists. Additionally, the reference emphasizes the role of GIS in business and mobile intelligence. By offering more diversified GIS-related topics from theory and research than most of the other available literature, the authors equip newcomers to the field with principles as well as applications. With an accessible breadth of content and intuitive A-Z organization, this new edition of the encyclopedia is an invaluable reference for newcomers to the field of GIS, as well as researchers, students, developers and professionals who are interested in exploring this new dynamic area. Praise For The First Edition: "The focus here, however, is on the mathematical and computational aspects of GIS ... . This is very welcome to those practitioners who have been less exposed to some of the mathematical and computational aspects of GIS. This is also very welcome to the researcher or graduate student within any of the interdisciplinary areas that use GIS. ... I highly recommend it." (Pascal V. Calarco, ACM Computing Reviews, November, 2008) "This single-volume reference work is a highly welcome ... addition to the rapidly advancing field of geographic information systems. Peer-reviewed entries from over 300 contributors cover 41 topical subfields, with an overall emphasis on computational aspects of GIS. The volume is adequately illustrated with 723 figures and 90 tables in black and white. A full bibliography and concise list of entry terms are provided at the back of the work. ... Summing Up: Highly recommended. Upper-division geography students through professionals." (C. E. Smith, CHOICE, Vol. 45 (11), 2008) "The encyclopedia is divided into 41 fields, each one an important sub-area within GIS. ... the editors' organization of the material and comprehensive and systematic approach are superb and shall give students, eager readers as well as researchers an understanding of the topics in quite full depth and breadth. ... is lavishly illustrated with figures, graphs and tables, the design and execution of which are as perfect as the material they illustrate. ... it is sturdy and opens out nicely for study and reference." (Current Engineering Practice, 2008).
Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining by
This authoritative, expanded and updated second edition of Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining provides easy access to core information for those seeking entry into any aspect within the broad field of Machine Learning and Data Mining. A paramount work, its 800 entries - about 150 of them newly updated or added - are filled with valuable literature references, providing the reader with a portal to more detailed information on any given topic. Topics for the Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining include Learning and Logic, Data Mining, Applications, Text Mining, Statistical Learning, Reinforcement Learning, Pattern Mining, Graph Mining, Relational Mining, Evolutionary Computation, Information Theory, Behavior Cloning, and many others. Topics were selected by a distinguished international advisory board. Each peer-reviewed, highly-structured entry includes a definition, key words, an illustration, applications, a bibliography, and links to related literature. The entries are expository and tutorial, making this reference a practical resource for students, academics, or professionals who employ machine learning and data mining methods in their projects. Machine learning and data mining techniques have countless applications, including data science applications, and this reference is essential for anyone seeking quick access to vital information on the topic.
Encyclopedia of Social Network Analysis and Mining by
The Encyclopedia of Social Network Analysis and Mining (ESNAM) is the first major reference work to integrate fundamental concepts and research directions in the areas of social networks and applications to data mining. The second edition of ESNAM is a truly outstanding reference appealing to researchers, practitioners, instructors and students (both undergraduate and graduate), as well as the general public. This updated reference integrates all basics concepts and research efforts under one umbrella. Coverage has been expanded to include new emerging topics such as crowdsourcing, opinion mining, and sentiment analysis. Revised content of existing material keeps the encyclopedia current. The second edition is intended for college students as well as public and academic libraries. It is anticipated to continue to stimulate more awareness of social network applications and research efforts. The advent of electronic communication, and in particular on-line communities, have created social networks of hitherto unimaginable sizes. Reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of this unique field, the essential contributions of diverse disciplines, from computer science, mathematics, and statistics to sociology and behavioral science, are described among the 300 authoritative yet highly readable entries. Students will find a world of information and insight behind the familiar façade of the social networks in which they participate. Researchers and practitioners will benefit from a comprehensive perspective on the methodologies for analysis of constructed networks, and the data mining and machine learning techniques that have proved attractive for sophisticated knowledge discovery in complex applications. Also addressed is the application of social network methodologies to other domains, such as web networks and biological networks.
Encyclopedia of Wireless Networks by
Wireless networking technologies are witnessed to become the integral part of industry, business, entertainment and daily life. Encyclopedia of Wireless Networks is expected to provide comprehensive references to key concepts of wireless networks, including research results of historical significance, areas of current interests, and growing directions in the future wireless networks. It can serve as a valuable and authoritative literature for students, researchers, engineers, and practitioners who need a quick reference to the subjects of wireless network technology and its relevant applications. Areas covered: 5G Network | Editors: Rahim Tafazolli, Rose Hu Ad hoc Network | Editor: Cheng Li Big Data for Networking | Editor: Song Guo Cellular Network, 2G/3G Network, 4G/LTE Network | Editor: Hsiao-hwa Chen Cognitive Radio Network | Editor: Ning Zhang Cooperative Communications | Editor: Kaoru Ota Cyber Physical Systems | Editor: Shiyan Hu Data Center Network | Editor: Lei Lei Delay Tolerant and Opportunistic Network | Editor: Yuanguo Bi Equalization, Synchronization and Channel Estimation | Editor: Yingying Chen Future Network Architecture | Editor: Wei Quan Game Theory in Wireless Network | Editor: Dusit Niyato Interference Characterization and Mitigation | Editor: Lin Cai Internet of Things | Editors: Xiuzhen Cheng, Wei Cheng Internet of Things and its Applications | Editor: Phone Lin Interworking Heterogeneous Wireless Network | Editor: Ping Wang Medium Access Control | Editors: Hassan Omar, Qiang Ye Millimeter-wave Communications | Editor: Ming Xiao MIMO-based Network | Editor: Prof. Wei Zhang Mobility Management and Models | Editors: Sandra Cespedes, Sangheon Pack Molecular, Biological and Multi-scale Communications | Editor: Adam Noel Network Economics and pricing | Editors: Jianwei Huang, Yuan Luo Network Forensics and surveillance, Fault Tolerance and Reliability | Editor: Hongwei Li Network Measurement and Virtualization | Editor: Yusheng Ji Quality of Service, Quality of Experience and Quality of Protection | Editors: Rui Luis Aguiar, Yu Cheng Resource Allocation and Management | Editors: Junshan Zhang, Nan Cheng Routing and Multi-cast, Router and Switch Design | Editor: Richard Yu Scaling Laws and Fundamental Limits | Editor: Ning Lu Security, Privacy and Trust | Editor: Kui Ren Short Range Communications, RFID and NFC | Editor: Zhiguo Shi Smart Grid Communications | Editor: Vincent W. S. Wong Vehicular Network | Editors: Lian Zhao, Qing Yang Video Streaming | Editor: Zhi Liu Wireless Body Area Network and e-healthcare | Editor: Honggang Wang Wireless Security | Editors: Haojin Zhu, Jian Shen Wireless Sensor Network | Editors: Jiming Chen, Ruilong Deng WLAN and OFDM | Editor: Xianbin Wang
Handbook of Computer Networks and Cyber Security by
This handbook introduces the basic principles and fundamentals of cyber security towards establishing an understanding of how to protect computers from hackers and adversaries. The highly informative subject matter of this handbook, includes various concepts, models, and terminologies along with examples and illustrations to demonstrate substantial technical details of the field. It motivates the readers to exercise better protection and defense mechanisms to deal with attackers and mitigate the situation. This handbook also outlines some of the exciting areas of future research where the existing approaches can be implemented. Exponential increase in the use of computers as a means of storing and retrieving security-intensive information, requires placement of adequate security measures to safeguard the entire computing and communication scenario. With the advent of Internet and its underlying technologies, information security aspects are becoming a prime concern towards protecting the networks and the cyber ecosystem from variety of threats, which is illustrated in this handbook. This handbook primarily targets professionals in security, privacy and trust to use and improve the reliability of businesses in a distributed manner, as well as computer scientists and software developers, who are seeking to carry out research and develop software in information and cyber security. Researchers and advanced-level students in computer science will also benefit from this reference.
Handbook of Machine and Computer Vision by
The second edition of this accepted reference work has been updated to reflect the rapid developments in the field and now covers both 2D and 3D imaging. Written by expert practitioners from leading companies operating in machine vision, this one-stop handbook guides readers through all aspects of image acquisition and image processing, including optics, electronics and software. The authors approach the subject in terms of industrial applications, elucidating such topics as illumination and camera calibration. Initial chapters concentrate on the latest hardware aspects, ranging from lenses and camera systems to camera-computer interfaces, with the software necessary discussed to an equal depth in later sections. These include digital image basics as well as image analysis and image processing. The book concludes with extended coverage of industrial applications in optics and electronics, backed by case studies and design strategies for the conception of complete machine vision systems. As a result, readers are not only able to understand the latest systems, but also to plan and evaluate this technology. With more than 500 images and tables to illustrate relevant principles and steps.
Handbook of Model Checking by
Model checking is a computer-assisted method for the analysis of dynamical systems that can be modeled by state-transition systems. Drawing from research traditions in mathematical logic, programming languages, hardware design, and theoretical computer science, model checking is now widely used for the verification of hardware and software in industry. The editors and authors of this handbook are among the world's leading researchers in this domain, and the 32 contributed chapters present a thorough view of the origin, theory, and application of model checking. In particular, the editors classify the advances in this domain and the chapters of the handbook in terms of two recurrent themes that have driven much of the research agenda: the algorithmic challenge, that is, designing model-checking algorithms that scale to real-life problems; and the modeling challenge, that is, extending the formalism beyond Kripke structures and temporal logic. The book will be valuable for researchers and graduate students engaged with the development of formal methods and verification tools.
Handbook on Data Centers by
This handbook offers a comprehensive review of the state-of-the-art research achievements in the field of data centers. Contributions from international, leading researchers and scholars offer topics in cloud computing, virtualization in data centers, energy efficient data centers, and next generation data center architecture. It also comprises current research trends in emerging areas, such as data security, data protection management, and network resource management in data centers. Specific attention is devoted to industry needs associated with the challenges faced by data centers, such as various power, cooling, floor space, and associated environmental health and safety issues, while still working to support growth without disrupting quality of service. The contributions cut across various IT data technology domains as a single source to discuss the interdependencies that need to be supported to enable a virtualized, next-generation, energy efficient, economical, and environmentally friendly data center. This book appeals to a broad spectrum of readers, including server, storage, networking, database, and applications analysts, administrators, and architects. It is intended for those seeking to gain a stronger grasp on data center networks: the fundamental protocol used by the applications and the network, the typical network technologies, and their design aspects. The Handbook of Data Centers is a leading reference on design and implementation for planning, implementing, and operating data center networks.
The InfoSec Handbook by
The InfoSec Handbook offers the reader an organized layout of information that is easily read and understood. Allowing beginners to enter the field and understand the key concepts and ideas, while still keeping the experienced readers updated on topics and concepts. It is intended mainly for beginners to the field of information security, written in a way that makes it easy for them to understand the detailed content of the book. The book offers a practical and simple view of the security practices while still offering somewhat technical and detailed information relating to security. It helps the reader build a strong foundation of information, allowing them to move forward from the book with a larger knowledge base. Security is a constantly growing concern that everyone must deal with. Whether it's an average computer user or a highly skilled computer user, they are always confronted with different security risks. These risks range in danger and should always be dealt with accordingly. Unfortunately, not everyone is aware of the dangers or how to prevent them and this is where most of the issues arise in information technology (IT). When computer users do not take security into account many issues can arise from that like system compromises or loss of data and information. This is an obvious issue that is present with all computer users. This book is intended to educate the average and experienced user of what kinds of different security practices and standards exist. It will also cover how to manage security software and updates in order to be as protected as possible from all of the threats that they face.
Java: the Complete Reference, Twelfth Edition by
The Definitive Java Programming Guide Fully updated for Java SE 17, Java(tm): The Complete Reference, Twelfth Edition explains how to develop, compile, debug, and run Java programs. Best-selling programming author Herb Schildt covers the entire Java language, including its syntax, keywords, and fundamental programming principles. You'll also find information on key portions of the Java API library, such as I/O, the Collections Framework, the stream library, and the concurrency utilities. Swing, JavaBeans, and servlets are examined, and numerous examples demonstrate Java in action. Of course, recent additions to the Java language, such as records, sealed classes, and switch expressions are discussed in detail. Best of all, the book is written in the clear, crisp, uncompromising style that has made Schildt the choice of millions worldwide. Downloadable Code available on the Downloads and Resources tab on the book's page on mhprofessional dot com. Coverage includes: Data types, variables, arrays, and operators Control statements Classes, objects, and methods Method overloading and overriding Inheritance Interfaces and packages Exception handling Multithreaded programming Enumerations, autoboxing, and annotations The I/O classes Generics Lambda expressions Modules Records Sealed classes Text blocks switch expressions Pattern matching with instanceof String handling The Collections Framework Networking Event handling AWT Swing The Concurrent API The Stream API Regular expressions JavaBeans Servlets Much, much more
|
