Architecture

Scholarly sources typically cover specific topics in a fairly in-depth manner. In architecture, scholarly sources may include books and book chapters, research articles, papers in professional publications, and conference proceedings. The term scholarly often refers to publications that have undergone the peer-review process. This process allows experts in the field to write and publish their original research.

Scholarly resources in architecture encompass a range of topics, including the design process, architectural history, theory, and case studies.

They can also cover related subjects and focus on societal and technological issues. If you do not find the materials that you need, consult a librarian and learn how to request resources through interlibrary loan.

From this page, you can 

• See recommended databases for architecture and related disciplines, where you can search for articles and images by title, author, or topic. 
• Access journals in architecture and related disciplines to browse recent issues and review trends.
• Review the research guides, "Research in Architecture and Design," "  History of Architecture", "Representational Techniques", "Software in Architecture and Design", "Philosophy for Architects",  and "Finding Images in Architecture, Art and Design. " These and other guides offer more detailed information.

What is a scholarly database? 

A scholarly database organizes the best-quality, most relevant information for a field or discipline in one place, making it easily searchable. Due to the extensive scholarly research and diverse range of fields, databases specialize in the types of information or tools they provide. 

Why use a scholarly database? 

Scholarly databases consider the most important publications and research methods within a field or discipline. The database helps you make choices about which articles you want to see, by subject, dates of publication, overall topic, and more. Google and Google Scholar, while vast, do no quality control on the content they provide, or give you good tools to narrow your focus. In addition to scholarly databases, there are Professional (not strictly academic) databases that are aimed at practicing architects, designers, and builders. These typically include product information, standards, specifications, and design inspiration—not peer-reviewed academic papers. Below are just some of the databases available at NJIT, you can find more by searching the A-Z list.

Find additional databases on our A-Z Databases page. [Or search for articles by author, title or topic through Articles+ in the Library Catalog]. They can be focused on related subjects, like sustainability, construction, engineering, building systems, material science, etc.

Scholarly journals feature articles written by experts and are peer-reviewed, meaning that other experts assess articles before publication to ensure quality and relevance. They provide access to cutting-edge research and scholarly discourse. To locate journals, search the online catalog and select the "Journals" tab. Some are available in electronic format, while others are in print, and a few are offered in both formats—both in the library and online. If you’re unsure which journal you need, the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals provides a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design. Although not all of them are scholarly publications, some are in professional magazines that are also critical in the field of architecture and design