Open Access Publishing

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a searchable directory of open access journals across all disciplines.

Many publishers support one or more open access journals, and their websites are another place to begin your search.

Additional resources:

• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

  This is a searchable directory of open access journals across all disciplines.

• Open Library of Humanities

  The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs).

• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

  DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers.

• OA Books Toolkit

  Provided by the OAPEN library and publication platform, the Open Access Books Toolkit covers specific topics related to open access books. Each article offers a quick and brief introduction to a particular aspect of open access book publishing.

Depositing your work in an open access repository is another way to share your research. Be careful to comply with copyright and licensing restrictions when uploading your published work (see "Understanding Author Rights" for more information). Repositories may be institutional, such as NJIT's Digital Commons, or discipline-specific.

A note on Academia.edu and ResearchGate: Both platforms are commercial enterprises (despite the former's top-level domain) and sell user data. Consider using a trusted open access repository instead. For more on this issue, we recommend One more word about ResearchGate/Academia.edu and Choosing and using academic sharing and networking platforms.

• Digital Commons

  Digital Commons is a service of NJIT that provides long-term access to a broad range of content of enduring value. NJIT faculty, researchers, staff, graduate students, and undergraduates (with sponsorship) may submit digital content to Digital Commons.

• OpenDOAR

  The Directory of Open Access Repositories is a searchable database of academic open access repositories.

• BioRxiv

  Modeled after ArXiv, the well-known physics pre-print repository, this brand new disciplinary repository operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, is a pre-print archive for the biological sciences. Submissions should be made indirectly via exports from institutional repositories like eCommons.

• PubMed Central

  PubMed Central is a full-text, open access database (to be distinguished from PubMed which is a citation database) administered by the National Library of Medicine. Depending on publishers' policies, authors can submit published articles for inclusion and are required to do so in the case of NIH-funded research.

• Humanities Commons CORE Repository

  A nonprofit, interdisciplinary repository for the humanities.