Research Guides: Theater Arts and Technology: Plays & Playscripts

Digital Theater Database

Contains 3 broad categories of streaming theater, primary, and secondary resources: 1) "Plays & Productions" (theater, film, opera, dance & music productions ; 2) "Practices & Practitioners" (roles, form of practice, resource type & curriculum; and 3) "Theory & Criticism" (theme, movement/style, resource type & curriculum. "Plays & Productions" also offers related play texts, play and practical guides, essays, workshops, interviews, biographies, and links to other performances of the work within Digital Theatre+.

Indexes

doollee.com

A low-cost online index to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English since the production of Look Back in Anger in 1956. doollee.com contains information on 55,018 Playwrights and 185,532 of their Plays.

Restricted Resources

Black Drama: 1850 to present (Rutgers Library)

Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by 201 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. The collection includes more than four hundred previously unpublished plays by writers such as Amiri Baraka, Ed Bullins, Randolph Edmonds, Femi Euba, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others. Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-field searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images.

Project Y
The Award winning, Project Y Theatre Company, is an outside-the-box theatre company that supports the creation, development, and production of new works for the stage in New York City. 2020 marks our 20th year as a company committed to supporting playwrights and their plays, and with a focus on women and LGBTQ voices. Project Y positions new plays and new voices to be part of the theatrical conversation. www.projectytheatre.org