Finding Information on Newark Architecture: Getting Started

Information on the built environment of Newark can be found using different sources. While researching your topics you will need to consult numerous print and web based resources, both current and those of the period of the architectural monument’s original construction. The Digital Archive of Newark Architecture contains a variety of materials: books, e-books, articles, archival resources, images, maps, and links to numerous websites. This guide will help you to navigate the Archive and other related resources while working on your research assignments. 

All materials provided by the Digital Archive of Newark Architecture can  be used as a basic source of information. You can supplement them by reading books, articles, and by exploring archival materials. This guide will help you to locate, evaluate and also to properly cite found text and images.

The pages Buildings and Articles on the Digital Archive contain detailed information on some of the architectural landmarks in Newark. Among them are the comprehensive National Records of Historic Places Inventory, Historic American Building Survey (HABS), and a section of selected articles. In addition there are some documents generously provided by the Newark Public Library.

Other pages in this guide discuss How to find Books and Articles, How to Find Maps, Images and Video Recordings, and How to Cite Images and also provides links to various tutorials and related subject guides.

The Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center at the Newark Public Library has research-level collections of materials on Newark. They house approximately 2,500 historical and current maps (bound and on film) including Sanborn maps files along with other miscellaneous fire insurance atlases for Newark and nearby communities. You can also find books, journal and newspaper articles, and their renowned picture collection. Prior to visiting the center, you can search their holdings via their library online catalog. For bests results, use the advanced search and limit your findings by selecting a particular material format, for example, "print map" or "graphic". You might want to search Newark Archives Project for additional results.

To find statistical data review the archive page Statistical Resources. Government documents, Newark master plans and redevelopment plans can be found on the page Government Documents. These pages also provide access to US Census, federal, transportation and other statistical data.

To find student works related to Newark, refer to the pages Reports and Student Work. You can also search Kepler archive (NJIT only, login required).