Research Guides: Information Technology: Background Information

Using General Sources for Background Research

General sources compile, summarize, index, or help identify scholarly sources on a topic. They are useful for background research or to get an overview of a topic before delving into secondary or primary sources. Common general sources for Information Technology include handbooks, databases, indexes, abstracts, and bibliographies. A few recommended resources are listed below.

From this page you can

Access key resources for background research in Information Technology

Resources for Background Research in Information Technology

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill
An engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Opposing Viewpoints is the online resource covering today's hottest social issues. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Famously known for its computer science books, O'Reilly now offers an extensive online database from many publishers, including Packt, Pearson, and HarperCollins. This database is jam packed with books, videos, and other tutorial formats that cover every known field in computer science. Please note that from even on-campus you will be prompted to login to this resource.
Springer Nature Link: Computer Science eBooks
The Springer Computer Science eBook Collection, featuring the renowned Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series, provides access to current research in computer science. NJIT users have full-text access to a selected subset of Springer journals and monographs. Coverage: 2014–present.