Research Guides: Concert Hall in Prague: Journals &amp; Databases

Journals

Articles in periodicals can be found by using indices and databases. For best results, consult our guide "Using Databases in Architectural Research."

The following are just a few selected databases that can be used for your research:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.
Art Abstracts (EBSCO)
An abstract database covers fine, decorative, and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture and includes a database-specific thesaurus. Coverage: 1984 - present.

Art Index Retrospective: 1929–1984 (EBSCO)
An index database provides access to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes peer-reviewed publications and citations of book reviews. Coverage:1929-1984
ARTSTOR
ARTSTOR interface retired. See JSTOR Images.
Complete image resource covering a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of one's discipline.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCO)
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.

Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Provides abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in practice, theory and history of design, craft, advertising and more from 1973 to the present. Coverage: 1973-present.
Grove Art Online
Access is available for 3 simultaneous users. The Grove Dictionary of Art Online contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Entries include bibliographic information with related resources.
JSTOR
The JSTOR includes hundreds of core titles across disciplines including humanities, social sciences, business, science and mathematics, botany, ecology, health sciences, and more.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic)
NJIT access to Nexis Uni has ceased as of 6/30/25. For legal research, please use our subscription to HeinOnline. For industry and company research, please use Factiva. Both may be found on the NJIT Library A-Z Resource List. Contact an NJIT Subject Librarian for any assistance with these resources.

Material ConneXion
Material ConneXion maintains the world’s largest subscription-based materials library, with thousands of innovative materials and processes across all disciplines of design. Users can search and browse by physical properties such as texture and stiffness, performance properties such as fire and water resistance, sustainability and more.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (EBSCO)
A full-text database of essential publications for research across many disciplines, including art, education, humanities, and technology. It also provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.

Tectonica
he architecture and construction journal Tectonica -Spain, Portugal and Latin America’s leading publication for architects and construction professionals- has completed its internationalization with the creation of tectonica-online. A global website available in English and Spanish, tectonica-online includes the principal contents from the journal’s almost 20-year history, as well as newly incorporated material.

AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill
An engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.