Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
[NJIT logo]

Archives and Special Collections: About

The mission of the NJIT Attic is to: collect, document, and display -- in both digital and traditional formats -- items, objects, information, and records that tell the corporate and social living history of NJIT and its predecessors. As such, the NJIT Attic will comprise the "collective memory" of NJIT.

The archives is neither the university's records management service nor its legal repository, and it should not be construed to contain the complete, exhaustive, definitive, legal records for NJIT.

Special collections are managed by digital and technology staff overseeing the library's rare, fragile, archival, or other holdings needing special care. The goal is to make these materials accessible to researchers while preserving the items for posterity. The Robert W. Van Houten Library has archives and special collections in the following areas.

Plan of Action

Each year the library will collect, preserve, organize, catalog, index, digitize, and make accessible physically and over the web the key documents of three years of NJIT history. These shall include but not be limited to photos, yearbooks, publications, newspapers, biographical information, brochures, important letters, and other key documents.

Consult the listing in the right column to see our work in progress and to read about some of our plans, projects, and collections.

Archives' Collections

New Jersey Institute of Technology
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us | Ask A Librarian |  Map & Directions | A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2020 | Robert W. Van Houten Library